Being in the UK


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire » Girton
January 30th 2006
Published: January 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm now back in the UK, which has advantages and disadvantages. For instance, here the risk of dehydration is much lower, but I feel cold everwhere as I am now using to living in a tropical dry season. I am back with my family, but they are busier, so they cannot give me as much time as Patrick and his family could. It is also actually a bit easier to see a Doctor out of hours out in Tanzania - out there I could afford Private Healthcare which was 24hrs, though in the day they tended to be very busy. Also hospitals and surgeries here are better equiped.

I am still really weak, and incapable of doing much at all. I am tending to get pain after eating, which I am sure is not a good sign. I then feel grotty for a while, until I reach the burping stage at which point I feel a bit better. I do not have diarrhoea (as I define it) just abnormal faeces now, as well as unusually high quantities of it. I will see a Doctor tomorrow. For now I am really doing very little whatsoever.

Advertisement



5th February 2006

Get well soon
I came across your site looking up information on ciproflaxin. I am a British ex-pat living in Kolkata, India, and my mother is visiting (from Saffron Walden, which is near Cambridge). She took a trip to Varanasi - 15-20 hours by train - and fell ill with diarrhoea and is now in hospital on an intravenous drip and ciproflaxin injections. She didn't have that many bowel movements, but a lot of pain and exhaustion so I advised her to go to a private hospital. She is in a real panic, largely because she is on her own and has to face a long train journey back to Kolkata tomorrow. However, 36 hours of intravenous dehydration and anti-biotics should make her feel well enough to tackle the journey. Last year, she spent three months in South India (where everyone gets an upset stomach from food, including Indians) and never had a problem. I've also been fairly lucky. It just happens by chance and is terrible when it happens. I hope you get better soon.

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb