here it is.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire » Cambridge
January 29th 2010
Published: January 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

well here i am. i have finally decided to follow-thru on a promise i have made to many of you.
first of all... i need to apologize. I am not much of a writer... like at all... i'm very to the point.. but i will try to overcome this fault of mine. well now that that is done... on to my travels and experience.

i guess it all starts on december 31 when i boarded a plane to fly to London. The flight was about 8 hours long.. and i slept about 15 minutes. Im not sure if it was a mix of nervousness and excitement, but it seemed to be a very long flight. Kyrie and I then made our way through Heathrow airport to find the coach station. We took a coach to Cambridge and then enjoyed a pleasant taxi ride to the house. Okay, that was alot of detail.. moving on.

I have been here exactly 4 weeks from today. My time has consisted of ALOT of exploring of Cambridge (which is absolutely breath-taking. I have an album on facebook which outlines our exploring pretty well. I must confess, Kyrie and I went shopping a few times when we first arrived. They have TWO H&MS!!!! and also many stores similar to it. Lets just say shopping in Cambridge is dangerous... as their main targeted consumers are college-aged kids (me!).

Some time has also been spent going to various pubs / clubs. Im not much of a beer drinker... but i have developed a liking to cider flavored beer. I feel accepted when i drink this at pubs... so i am sticking to it. I generally go to pubs with Westfield Housemates. Also, Kyrie and I have enjoyed getting to know our neighbors who are other college-aged kids from Valparaiso University. We usually go out to clubs with them on weekends, which has been great fun.

This past weekend, Kyrie and I traveled to London. We saw many of the classic sites : London Eye, Big Ben, Parliament, Shakespeare's Globe Theatre, Westminster Abbey, Tower of London, Tower Bridge, and St. Pauls Cathedral. Instead of going into detail with each of the sites, I will just tell you about my favorite = Westminster Abbey. On Sunday morning, Kyrie and I ventured to attend the Service of Matins at Westminster Abbey. I cant even explain it - it was absolutely beautiful. They had their boy's choir there to sing the matins and then one of their main reverends gave an excellent message. It was a "social gospel" (to quote my dad). Very uplifting and calling us Christians to help others in this case he talked about Haiti. It was great. The organ was extremely powerful and dominant- i loved it!

maybe in my next post i will talk about classes and life at Westfield. yes, i think i shall do that. 😊
i hope this wasnt too spaced or that the lack of grammar and proper capitalisations (the English spelling) didnt bother you too much.

in Christ's love,
kristen


the next portion (Kyrie's highlight) will be present with every blog entry!!

Kyrie's highlights of our time since we've been here :
1- Seeing her favorite musical : LES MISERABLES at Queen's Theatre
2- learning how to properly take a shot. im a great teacher.
3- learning about the relationship between science and religion through her lectures at Cambridge



Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb