Report from the First Day of School


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire » Cambridge
September 22nd 2009
Published: September 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

My crazy binder!My crazy binder!My crazy binder!

seriously who did think this up? There's this weird little lever that you have to use to open it too. I am still working on getting used to that.
I want to start off with some EXCELLENT news: I am the proud owner of a new "lap tray." I am learning that it is ALL about terminology. Whereas no one seemed to have any clue what a "lap desk" was, after doing some online research (as I was in a panic yesterday thinking I would have to do actual work without so much as even a clipboard), I realized by referring to it as a lap tray I could get through to people. And, lo and behold, there was actually one available at a department store in town! Granted it was a little overpriced and is nowhere near as cute as my beautiful blue bumblebee one that I left at home (and actually isn't really my taste AT ALL), I think it will serve the purpose. I have also been drinking the chai tea I found the other day. While it definitely smells right, it is is more bitter than I am used to. I had to put an intense FOUR packets of sugar in it to get it sweet enough. I think I may try artificial sweetener tomorrow, but I'm not sure how that will go...

It has
my "lap tray"my "lap tray"my "lap tray"

I know, I know, it's kinda dark and fugly... but it's not like I had a whole lot of choices!
been a crazy couple of days. I have been "oriented" to both Homerton College and my placement school, St. Albans. Sadly though, there was NO trainwreck involved! Yesterday I got a Homerton ID card, however it is still unclear if we can log onto Homerton's IT network or check out books from its library. I was also sad to find out that the "dining fee" I paid to Homerton didn't cover any actual meals there--just for the "privilege" of being able to eat there! Although apparently they have some sort of cavadvantage-like system whereby we can receive a discount if we pre-load money onto my id... grreeaaaat! I am really missing having a kitchen right about now! Yesterday afternoon we had the formal beginning of our course with Helen. It was pretty much the usual "let's go over the syllabus" followed by information overload that starts off each semester. However, there was the addition of a whole new system of standards to try and take in. I am sure there is plenty of overlap with what I already know, but the different framework and terminology was a lot. I was also very saddened to learn that history is not even a considered a "foundation subject!" Granted, I knew social studies was a uniquely American discipline (thank you, Professor Grimes!) but I didn't expect all of its topics to get kicked out of the big four! (Although included in the UK national curriculum, "citizenship" is listed as an optional topic!) Basically, all of the anxiety I had NOT been feeling up to this point I started to experience yesterday. Then there were added little stressors like the fact that our handbooks from Ellie were on the wrong size paper and three whole punched. Standard sized paper in the UK is slightly longer and narrower and two hole punched. Who thinks up this stuff? To illustrate the madness I have taken a picture of the binder I have to keep for my placement. With the way the wholes are punched I am fairly confident that I will accidentally rip out at least a couple of the pages over the course of the term.

Today was my orientation day at St. Albans. I FINALLY found out that I am going to be teaching in year 4 (third grade). In summary, there are 30 kids in the class, so the place is hopping (especially since there doesn't seem to be a lot of classroom management). It is very Catholic, which I guess makes since it is a Catholic school. (Did you know that parochial schools can get state funding over here? Although apparently they CAN'T if they're Islamic... double standard anyone?) Anyway, I am still trying to wrap my mind around the the whole non-separation of church and state thing. I can tell already that it is going to be a personal challenge for me in this placement. I was relieved to find out that I wouldn't be required to teach religious education (RE) because I think that is just a tad more than my little heart can take. I am just going to take it one day at a time.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb