Ely, Brighton and Thornbury


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cambridgeshire » Cambridge
July 13th 2008
Published: July 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Its been a while, but over the past few weeks I have:

--Worked. Everything in the lab is going really well and I really like the people I am working with.

--Ely. Ely is a small town about a ten minute train ride from Cambridge with a HUGE and AMAZING cathedral. On the inside its absolutly gorgeous with painted walls and ceiling. It is a bit odd though that such a huge cathedral is in such a small town.

--Brighton. Feeling rather homesick for the fourth of july and summer in general, I went to Brighton with my friend Mark to make up for it. The palace is Brighton is just a tad excessive--it looks like the Taj Mahal--and is a bit ridiculous inside. Everything has an oriental theme and its a bit overwhelming. The beach at Brighton reminded me alot of Venice Beach--lots of random people hanging around. There were street performers and people trying to sell you stuff everywhere. Luckily, the weather was gorgeous and we were able to spend the whole afternoon reading on the beach in the sun.

--Thornbury. I took two days off of work to spend a long weekend with the
Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

Rosie and I ready to go out to the Pub.
Brady family in Thornbury. Rosie took me out to the Lion pub two nights in a row. Its a bit odd to be back and going out to the pub as this was not what I got up to when I lived here, as I was twelve. I spent two evenings in a row awkwardly running into people I haven't seen for eight (that's right, eight) years. And frankly, got a few suprised looks, as I was, understandably, the last person they would expect to see out at the pub. We spent Friday walking around the town visiting the high street, St Mary's Church, St. Mary's Primary School and other random places along the way.

--London. On route to and from Thornbury, I managed to make the most of my tube ticket (I had to get one to get from one train station to the other) and visited a few museums. I went to the National Gallery, Trafalgar Square, Covent Gardens, the Tate Modern and the Imperial War Museum (which had a particularly powerful exhibit of the Holocaust). I have come to learn that I much prefer going to museums by myself. For those of you that know me well, you know that I have a relatively short attention span--visiting the museums solo means that I can see what I want to see, and don't have to wait around for people (ie. my dad) to read/look at everything.

All in all, things are going really well. I only have four weeks left in the lab, and after that I am setting off for a two week adventure through Greece and Italy. Hope all is well!

Sarah

Advertisement



15th July 2008

What about Evensong?
Hi Sarah, great to see and hear that you are having such a fantastic time! I am reading in vain to find references to all the Evensongs and organ recitals you are no doubt attending! :-) That's funny about the pub..but ain't pub food grand? All best, Jeffrey

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb