Back to England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Buckinghamshire » Olney
April 5th 2018
Published: April 6th 2018
Edit Blog Post

It doesn't matter if you set your alarm for 5:30, you always wake up at 4:30! I had sorted out all my 'stuff' the night before and amazingly fitted it into the suitcase. It was very frosty as I dragged the suitcase up the hill to where I had parked the car. Finally got underway to the airport and then the challenge was to find the car rental returns. It was a rabbit warren. I think I drove around half the airport following the signs. Found the place eventually, locked the car, dropped off the keys in the slot and headed into the airport. This time through security was quick and painless. A nice change after all the other long wait times. The flight was uneventful but I had an aisle seat which didn't let me see the beautiful snowy mountains. I caught a glimpse every now and then. The day was stunning, practically cloudless and a warm 9 degrees. I almost had to take off my coat! Picked up my little Hyundai i10 and headed off out of London toward the Cotswolds. I wanted to go back to Castle Combe and Lacock. Had visited there before but so beautiful. They
Free Range Children Free Range Children Free Range Children

Not sure whether this means go slowly or there are slow children about :)
are ancient medieval villages that remain pretty much untouched. There are no signs of modern day lighting or power poles and old houses that walk straight out onto the street. I called in at the Castle Inn and had a cream tea. Then wandered through the village for half and hour, back in the car and drove the 15klms to Lacock. There were so many people here wandering the streets. The residents must get really tired of it although I'm guessing it is good for the little local shops.Lacock is the town where they shot the film Harry Potter and there are bits of memorabilia in all the souvenir shops. For me, I had no idea, not watched the movies or read the books!

Walked back to the car and found my way out onto the M4. I don't usually like using the motorways over here. I can do that at home and I usually try and find the road less travelled but it was 170klms to Michele's place in Olney so I took the motorways as it was already 3 o'clock. Except for the traffic getting into Olney (about 5klms of it) the trip was great. I arrived
Cream Tea with the KidsCream Tea with the KidsCream Tea with the Kids

Castle Inn at Castle Combe
at Michele's at about 5:30. Big hugs from all the family and then spent the rest of the evening with good chatter and great food. Jeremy is a great cook!

Off to the Bluebell Railway tomorrow and two nights in Bognor Regis to hunt fossils and visit the southern coastline.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Castle CombeCastle Combe
Castle Combe

This whole village is Heritage Listed. Not much has changed since the 15th century.
Lacock Tithe BarnLacock Tithe Barn
Lacock Tithe Barn

Built in the 12th century, used to hold tithes and criminals!
Harry PotterHarry Potter
Harry Potter

Lacock is the town where Harry Potter was filmed.
Laycock Catholic ChurchLaycock Catholic Church
Laycock Catholic Church

There is an Abbey in Lacock. Wandered up there. They wanted almost 14 pounds to walk in... I walked away


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb