Place your bets! Righty Oh?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Berkshire
June 21st 2006
Published: June 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Pardon me...Pardon me...Pardon me...

Do you know where the Grand Stands are? Oh they're on your head.
Berkshire's Horseraces have returned to Ascot. Two years ago they closed down the racecourse where they had the annual races for remodeling. Remodeling's done and it's open again. The Ascot races are Berkshire's social event of the season. Of course we went for the opening day cerimonies. I wouldn't pass up this chance to embarrass myself. You all know me better than that. Tourist do the damnist things. Besides, I needed something to do. Been back in the yU.K. for about a week now and my feet are getting itchy.

Bought some General Admition tickets for Tuesday and found that the dresscode was strict. To be in the general admission area men were required to where a shirt and tie. Jacket was apprecitated but not required. Ladies were required to "Dress for a smart occassion". Hats were not obligatory, but all the rage. The women here really take the hats to a whole new level. Some were cute. Others nice and trendy. But there are always those few, who just have to stand out. You know the type?

Glad I packed my blue suit. One of three suits I carry, when I travel. Blue suit (see picture), bathing suit,
Come ON Rusty!Come ON Rusty!Come ON Rusty!

His mother was a mudder.
and birthday suit. It's important not to get those mixed up. Not as formal as the Brit's though.

Let me just say, that the royal races traditionally call for Proper Morning Attire. Which is a suite with waistcoat, jacket (with tails), tie, and a top hat. Unfortunately my tophat did not fit into my pack. Sorry. Would have been a great picture. Instead we got all dressed up and headed out to Ascot by train. There was a parade procession begining the day with the queen herself opening the race day. Only the best for all of you. Made a few bets and spent the day mostly in line. Line to get in. Line to get to our viewing area. Line to get drinks. Line to place bets. Line to collect winnings. Line to get onto train. Line to get in line for the line to the line, just like any other public event. Didn't really mind though, considering we had a great day. Broke even for the day (excluding ticket) with some help from my horse "Top The Charts", in the fifth race. He was one of the favorites to win, but I put him to place. Good
Attention all 'fuzzy hats'!Attention all 'fuzzy hats'!Attention all 'fuzzy hats'!

Please report to the grassy area for ice cream.
thing too, cuz some 40 to 1 shot ended up taking the win. Rather have a little, than none at all. Over all a good experience. One of the most English things that I have done yet ,except of course, getting pissed at the pub, yelling at the footy game on t.v., and eating fish n'chips. But it was a close second.

Big on tradition over here as well. Heard on the tele, that even some of the carpark spots at the races were handed down through generations. But rich or not, everyone loves a good caravan in the parking lot before their sports. People here are not different. Well, except that they are all wearing tophats and suits while sipping their champagne discussing which horse to wager on. Not me. I'd much rather have a cold one before a baseball game. But I guess it's all about friends and family. No matter where you are. At least at a baseball game if you're parked next to some idiot, you don't have to worry about seeing him again and again, and have your kids put up with his next generation. That's one for the states. Still doesn't make-up for
Brown guy; blue suit.  Free shots.Brown guy; blue suit.  Free shots.Brown guy; blue suit. Free shots.

Go ahead. Let the comments rip...
Bush though. Sorry Texas readers, but you know it's true.

Sorry Dale. No beer pictures this time. My camera hand is also my drinking hand. Priorities.
Until next time travel fans. Same silly channel. Same silly time. New silly adventures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Katie Cowgirl.  Giddee-up.Katie Cowgirl.  Giddee-up.
Katie Cowgirl. Giddee-up.

Yes, I know there are horses here. But I don't think they will let you ride them just because you have that hat.
Alright boys, line up for inspection.Alright boys, line up for inspection.
Alright boys, line up for inspection.

Coat? Check! Silly hat? Check! Sourpuss British look on your face? Check check! Righty 'O then.
View from the Royal Enclosure.  View from the Royal Enclosure.
View from the Royal Enclosure.

We didn't belong there, but we snuck in anyway.
Reminds me of something...Reminds me of something...
Reminds me of something...

Oh yes, the Titanic. Where is that old lady?


22nd June 2006

No Beer ?
I have to say that you have been doing a great job (as usual) of having a beer everywhere you go . I'll let this one time slide that you don't have a picture of you with beer in hand !!!! Hey , I also noticed you brought your "preppy rigger " sweater with you in a picture from a previous post . Good job !!!! Have fun ..... I know a certain horse named Marquisimo that likes girls in cowboy hats ......
22nd June 2006

yes ladies . . . . . .
yes ladies he's beautiful but can u truly appreciate him is the question. damn, our gene pool rocks!!
22nd June 2006

Now just think how stupid you would look in that suit if you still had that stash. Lookin good buddy
23rd June 2006

Brown guy, blue suit...
Nice Suit Rico Suave....
24th June 2006

You clean up so well...I don't know what Jr. is talking about!
27th June 2006

You'll know who I am when you read this...
Glug, Glug, Glug....
30th June 2006

Ah yes, TRADITION!!!
I see the lady behind you in your pic has her "Tradional Invisible Shoes". Tradition it's FANTASTIC!!! You should have taken a beer pic. I agree with Dale, who ever the hell he is, the beer and drinking pics are the best. Take care TYLER. STOP TALKING ABOUT ME!!! Paulson...out.

Tot: 0.332s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb