It's been a while...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Berkshire » Windsor
August 6th 2008
Published: August 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

... since I wrote anything, so here is an entry off the cuff. I am working, and as you know learning a new job is tiring and quite sucky. So my last few weeks have been tiring and sucky. Meanwhile, Mon has no job - I have money but no time, and Mon has time but no money, except that she could choose to spend my money if she so desired.
I had a few weeks in Glasgow, punctuated by a quick visit to Edinburgh. It's quite a long time ago now though, and it's late, so I'm failing to summon up the enthusiasm that is surely required for any tale about Edinburgh. Meanwhile, Trinny and Susannah are extolling the virtues of the UK bum. It is a truly British thing, it seems, revel in one's deficiencies. I know of no other race that is so keen to publicly air its awkwardness. I mean, us Kiwis are lucky - we have NZ to look forward to. If you're British, here is it! You can go and live in Europe, but why would you? They don't speak English!
Which is telling you nothing about Edinburgh at all. She is an amazing little package of a city, chock full of fantasy-style old stuff, but also featuring one of the more surreal buildings of the world - the Scottish Parliament. It truly has to be seen to be believed. Zillions of funny little features, some great big odd features... I can't be bothered putting the pictures on at the moment, but when I do, prepare to be quietly dazzled. Right. So we walked around a bit, saw lots of pretty things and walked up a monument which afforded us brilliant views of it all. Eventually we got sick of the hordes of tourists (goodness knows what it's like now with the festival on - festering, presumably). Climbed Arthur's Seat on the following day - silly place to put a seat, it's all the way up a hill! Arthur was clearly very fit.
It was very nice to finally get back to Eton after all this time away. The commute looks like it's going to be suitably awful - the August holidays are lulling me into a false sense of security about all this, but I know that it will return to its snarling worst soon. A motorbike is seriously being considered, despite the weather. I notice that the kinds of torrential downpours that characterise NZ riding don't really occur here - precipitation is, like every else in this country, mild.
Causticity aside, I am settling into the working life here pretty well - not too sure what to make of it all, but then nothing new there. Mon wants a job. That's essentially it. She is studying for an exam that will give her a useful qualification, which gives her something apart from job-hunting to do.
That is all. Hope everyone is well, and do drop us a line, we'd love to hear your news


Advertisement



7th August 2008

Scooters in London
Noted that you were considering a scooter/motorbike to ease the drudgery of the congested London commute. I know you are a brave young man, however I fear the persistent London smog and grime must have addled your potentially great mind. This preposterous hypothesis of yours is nothing short of reckless and I do now belive you have a true death wish. London traffic is a bull dog eat bull dog world, it is not suited to two wheel transportation like some of its European neighbours. In short, you will be eaten alive. I would suggest you find suitable transportation which allows you to better blend in with the British people. Get a white van from an Essex man, or better still, source yourself a nice piece of British motoring nostalgia - a Rover P5B. Yours truly, Concerned

Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb