It's still raining


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Bedfordshire
May 22nd 2006
Published: May 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Making storming progress despite the rain. Cycled 86 miles yesterday from Saffron Walden in Cambridgeshire to Beaconsfield and scampered up three hills, including the lovely Dunstable Downs, in between.

So that takes the current grand total to 13 in nine days. Plan to be in Bristol by Tuesday which will make 17 in 11 days - so good going. That pace will slow though in the north, Wales and Scotland as the hills become mountains and the distances in between grow.


Advertisement



22nd May 2006

Un-be-LIEVE-able
But what's the highest point in the Grove? Is it my bedroom in the 'Cot? Probably not, but if it is, I'm sure Fi and Gray will let you in to cycle round a bit - just watch out for my futon and the dodgy floorboards! I've said it before and I'll probably say it again, you're a bleedin' BISON! Completely in awe and full of so much respect for you (not that I wasn't before) what you're doing is absolutely amazing, has it been recognised as a record for the big book (not the bible)? Who presents that kids show now Roy Castle and Norris McWhirter are dead. Is it still Kris ('don't call me Chris') Akabusi? Awooga! Keep on keeping on mate - I'll sponsor you next week, after I've been paid (sob, sob etc etc etc!) Matt
23rd May 2006

the south
Jonny, does this mean you've done the home counties now? i.e. not coming back down this way? Would be cool if you could keep a running list of the counties completed on the web page so we can keep track of where you've been.
23rd May 2006

Juggernaut Jonny
86 miles and three hills in one day! Well done so far. I love the stories about getting into people's back gardens, because its places you'd never otherwise think to go. Looking forward to you getting into some of the bigger stuff though.
25th May 2006

charting Jonny Dangerous
Tell you what, send me the lat/long co-ordinates of the places you been through so far and I'll make you a Google Earth map. That way everyone can follow your progress!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb