Bullying


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Bedfordshire » Luton
January 27th 2009
Published: February 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I've never seen so much bullying in my life. The kids at this school literally have no regard for each other. They are heartless and cruel. It makes me sick.

We have a situation where these four obnoxious girls are bullying a quiet, introverted boy. He's about fed up with it, so he's starting to lash out at them in retaliation.

At the end of my class, last period of the day on Fridays, I have the students put their chairs on their desks so the floor can be cleaned. While the chairs were up, one of the girls acted like she was going to push the chair into the little boy's face, just to watch him flinch so they could all laugh at him. She accidentally hit him in the face with it. He was naturally aggravated and pushed a chair at her, hitting her in the face with it. She and her friends just laughed about it. Of course, they all got in trouble for this.

After all the students were gone, the little boy approached me and wanted to explain what was going on. Then he was too afraid to leave my classroom alone for fear the girls were waiting for him. So I walked him outside. His mother was waiting, and I talked to her for about thirty minutes. She's extremely angry that her son is still being bullied. "This has been going on for six months now!" she told me. "I have been on the phone with the school, and I have talked to the ladies in the office. I've even yelled at them, asking to speak with the principal. When is this going to stop?"

(I didn't tell her that there's no chance in hell for her to speak with the principal. The principal doesn't even have time to talk to her staff, which is ridiculous. I have little respect for a leader who can't find time for her staff. My principal at home was there me in a heartbeat.)

Anyway, the vice principal asks me for a written statement, since some of the trouble happened in my classroom. I don't want to say anything to incriminate the little boy, because I feel like he's innocent, and he's honest as the day is long. He'll tell anyone exactly what happened, including the part about him pushing the chair into the girl's face. The girl will deny that she and her friends have done anything wrong.

Of course, I'm going to write down what I know, but I hate it. I don't want him to get in trouble just because he's being honest and they aren't.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb