Teachers' Night Out


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Bedfordshire » Luton
October 17th 2008
Published: November 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Teachers' Night OutTeachers' Night OutTeachers' Night Out

Me, Deanna, and Jodi
After the netball game, I go to Jodi’s and Deanna’s house, near the bottom of Farley Hill, close to my old bed and breakfast. We watch some show called Hollyoaks, which is the most depressing, melodrama of all time. I'm more interested in the microwaved Chinese take-out and "chips" courtesy of Deanna.

After a couple of TV shows and glasses of wine mixed with cherry soda (Jodi's invention and you should try it!), we are upstairs, primping for our night out. I'm wearing my new high-heeled boots I got in Covent Garden for half price. A group of the teachers who competed in the netball tournament are going out drinking, so we'll be joining them in all our glory.

The bar is huge, with lots of room to stand around the bar and talk, a seating area with tables, a dance floor, and an upstairs balcony overlooking the bar. While I talk to another teacher about his trip to Beijing for the Olympics, Jodi and Deanna steal my camera and snap a few pictures without my knowing. (Don't worry, I won't upload any of the vulgar ones on here!)

We chat with some of the other teachers, drink
TeachersTeachersTeachers

See that guy behind me? Yeah, he's hot.
our Jack and Cokes, and eventually we dance. By the time Deanna, Jodi, and I are dancing, all the other teachers have left.

The dance floor is dark and empty, so I have plenty of room to dance, bounce, raise my arms, and swing my hips. The disco ball spins round and round. I look up.

We are surrounded by men who are watching us with blatant appreciation. I get the distinct feeling they're staring at me in particular. Probably because I'm such a good dancer, I think.

Overall, I'm surprised by the amount of attention I get from men, considering the fact that Robin and Deanna said that British men won't approach girls. Men are walking by, looking me up and down, making comments, trying to dance with me, etc. Jodi keeps rescuing me by pulling me towards her everytime a guy comes dancing over.

In hindsight, I realize that none of those men were British. They were all immigrants. (Duh, we're in Luton!) British men wouldn't have stared at me like that or tried to dance with me like that, because they're too "polite".

These guys were far from British.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Captivating ConversationCaptivating Conversation
Captivating Conversation

Me talking to the dude who went to Beijing to watch the Olympics.
LaughterLaughter
Laughter

I LOOOVE this picture! It's so authentic and captures the mood!
Some bartender?Some bartender?
Some bartender?

I love this one, too. The way he's humoring them while they take his picture.
No way! Get Back, Jack!No way! Get Back, Jack!
No way! Get Back, Jack!

"So I says to the guy, I says, 'That was a cantaloupe, not a frying pan!' Ahahaha!"
LoversLovers
Lovers

Stay away boys.


Tot: 0.358s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.148s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb