Return to Lvov


Advertisement
Ukraine's flag
Europe » Ukraine » Lviv
October 21st 2007
Published: December 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The train pulled into Lvov at about 6.30 and I headed for the hostel on foot, hoping to check in and possibly catch a nap. Unfortunately, Marushka was asleep when I arrived, so I cruised the internet for a while, went to an orthodox mass downtown and was about to take a nap when a couple of people arrived at reception, also looking for Marushka. Failing to find her, we decided to have breakfast at a local hotel, which was free for them. Breakfast was a bit of traditional food, plus some coffee and we asked for a beer each as well... why not, its free 😊
They were pretty friendly guys, all speaking good English, on the final day of a hostelling conference. They needed to get stuff for their folks back home from Ukraine, and this suited me perfectly, so after getting back to the hostel and checking in, we went to a supermarket and got some Ukrainian sweeties and a few bottles of flavoured vodka

Then back into town, a walk around and another beer with one of the hostel fellas. Winter was definitely arriving in Lvov, the tempterature wasn't any warmer than 0C. Grabbed some lunch at another one of those great canteen-style restaurants and I went to the station to buy my tickets for the following morning. This was possibly the slowest ticket buy of the whole trip as I was insultingly directed from window to window by really rude Ukrainian ticket women, some of whom called their colleagues into their office to laugh at me. OK, so I don't speak your language, but you're not doing your tourism industry any favours ladies!

Eventually I got a ticket to Przmesyl, and headed back into the hostel for a nap. Then some more food, at a cafe this time, and we headed out for a few more beers, first at a pub across the way, and then myself and the Bulgarian hostel manager headed to another, very comfortable bar around the corner until the wee hours, chatting about life, development and the way the world works. It was quite insightful and intruiging, a very sharp and enterprising fella, no question.

Finally, exhaustion caught up with me, I set my clock and slept fitfully for a few hours....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb