The Streets of Kiev


Advertisement
Ukraine's flag
Europe » Ukraine » Kiev
October 24th 2006
Published: October 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Streets of Kiev

Today I decided to finally travel around by myself. Before I only
traveled far when there was someone else to guide me. But now I have
gotten a feel for the city and know how to take the "marshrootka"
(bus). I wandered around, looking for historic sights in the center of
Kiev. I spent the whole day in Kiev's center. The area around the
center is gorgeous. There are a lot of old trees and all of the
buildings are well kept. There seems to be a sharp division between
the side of the river with the city's center and the other side of the
river. My family lives on the poor side of the river while Kiev's rich
live on the side of the river with the center. The poor side is full
of soviet styled dilapidated appartment complexes. Really the only
pretty part of that side is the beech along the river. Because from
that side you look across at the rich side of the city which is covered
in trees and the only buildings rising above the tree line are churches.
I have found the people in Kiev to be much more friendly than in
Moscow. I stopped quite a few people for directions today. Most, after
answering my questions, asked me where I am from. After that I usually
have a rather lengthy conversation with them. There are just about no
Americans in Kiev so the locals are really curious to find out more
about America. There are quite a few other foreigners passing
through-Italians, Chinese, English. But I have yet to meet another
American. I really love Kiev, more so than Moscow. I would never live
in Moscow but I like Kiev enough that I wouldn't mind living here if I
found a good job here. My host family has also been wonderful. Little
Igor led me around yesterday, showing me a beautiful beech. Tatyana
and Nikolay work until about 7pm on weekdays. After we returned back to
the appartment I read a bit in the book Everything is Illuminated,
which is about Ukraine. When I went to the kitchen to get a cup of
water I found Igor peeling potatoes. He had already peeled about 20
potatoes and only had a few more to go. I was so suprised. He is 11
years old but has a maturity far beyond
Entering St.MikhailEntering St.MikhailEntering St.Mikhail

The fresco was amazing
his age. I babysit for kids
his age, but he is playing the host and refuses to let me do anything
to help him with his jobs around the house. He seemed quite suprised
that I offered to help. I'm enjoying Ukrainian food but I must say that
Ukrainian hospitality will definitely make me gain a few extra pounds.
My family made Verenchiki (sort of like fried potatoes) yesterday and
they were excellent. They keep on insisting that I eat more and more
and say they can't believe how little I ate. I was completely stuffed
last night and then woke up to an equally big breakfast of borsch,
bread, and kolbasa. I lost about 8 pounds when I was in Russia
(probably from walking hours every day) but I'm sure I'll gain a couple
pounds back this week.



Advertisement



29th October 2006

To Lauren
It is great to hear from you! Wow it sounds like you're busy! I think about all of you a lot too. We will have to have a family reunion sometime soon and we can talk about our study abroad experiences!

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb