Kiev


Advertisement
Ukraine's flag
Europe » Ukraine » Kiev
October 21st 2006
Published: October 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Last night I took the 14 hour train ride to Kiev by myself. I was really nervous about the ride there and about meeting up with my Kiev host family. When I first came to my train wagon I was even more nervous. Two of the other three occupants were already there. They were men in their late 20s and were drinking. They asked me where I am from and I said that I am from Canada because I know there is more predjudice against Americans than Canadians. Shortly after that, the fourth occupant of the cabin arrived. Her name is Oksana and she is studying to be a lawyer. She is very nice and we are going to keep in touch. She is only in Kiev for a day. When I get back to Moscow she wants to show me around. The guys ended up being really pleasant and respectful too. The Russians talked most of the night amoung themselves. For the first half an hour I tried to be part of the conversation, but it was too taxing to do for long. When you only understand about 70 percent of what people say and there are a bunch of people speaking it is very hard to concentrate on the conversation for long.
Today we saw the most beautiful ancient churches. Some were built about 1000 years ago. The people are friendly and I love Ukraine so far.
My host family just told me that they don't have to pay much for email but the other internet costs more so I will have to write more later. But I'm having a great time here so far.

Advertisement



22nd October 2006

kiev
Hi genna, I hope your trip continues to give you great scenery and interesting perspectives. Have fun in Kiev! love, Aunt Sue
22nd October 2006

Glad to hear everything is working out alright, and i hope you enjoy your break. This week is going to be kind of hard, i got a econ exam, on wednesday, and a calc exam thursday. Have fun on your break, and keep in touch
29th October 2006

To Sue
Thanks! I had a great time!
29th October 2006

To Eric
Wow sounds like you're busy! I hope things get less stressful. Kiev was great, I had the best time!

Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1002s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb