Friday: Kiev Day 2 - Final day in Ukraine


Advertisement
Ukraine's flag
Europe » Ukraine » Kiev
September 17th 2010
Published: September 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day two in Kiev, second visit.


Last day of Ukraine :o(



Weather: It's feeling a bit cool today. Well, the coolest day of the trip so far. Overcast; looks like it could rain today *crosses fingers*

7:30 - up, out of bed.
Going to shave and shower, and go downstairs to Coffee House to start the day with a coffee (first time LOL).

Leaving at about 9:30 to make my way to the statue to meet Oksana.

10:00 arrived at Maiden Nezalezhnosti statue. An hour early, plenty of time to find a nice cappuccino, and hopefully a flower shop before 11:00.
Really nice kafe house around the corner from the statue. Go in, sit in the patio to have a few smokes, a couple of cappuccinos (16 hryvnia for two cappuccinos .. roughly $2.50US!!!! Damn I'm going to miss the prices here.) Very nice, helpful waiter - didn't have great English, but did make a very good effort at helping. He also directed me to a flower shop in the underground on the way to the Maiden Nezalezhnosti statue!!
10:45 - easily find flower shop - 28 hryvnia for 7 long stemmed red roses (less than $5!!)
11:00 - find a bench at the statue, have a smoke and wait for Oksana.
11:05 - Ruslana (our interpreter) arrives. Oksana called her to let her know that she was on the metro and will be there shortly. Ruslana explained that Oksana lives a bit of a distance away ("by the forest" - ??)
11:20 - Oksana walks up to where we were sitting ........... the words to describe her have not been invented in the English language yet!!!
I intentionally did not plan anything specific for our day together, since I wasn't sure how energetic Oksana would be after working the morning, if she'd be hungry for lunch, etc etc. I left the details up for discussion once she arrived.
Oksana suggested a little cafe around the corner (not quite the same one I stopped for cappuccinos earlier, but two doors down! LOL) Great food!! 465 hryvnia .. about $50. Good price for the quality of food we enjoyed.
After eating, Oksana (through Ruslana) asked if I would go ice skating with her. We took the metro to the district where she lives, this would also allow us the maximum time together before she had to meet her son after school.
Through the time we spent together, the conversations we carried on, there is definite interest on both sides to pursue something further. As Oksana said, "see what the Gods have in store for us together".
We managed to spend some good quality time together, in the presence of our interpreter, as well as time alone. Of course, the conversation wasn't as flowing without Ruslana there, but she did allow us some private, alone time periodically during the afternoon. Very classy, very comfortable, very ..... "perfect" (???).
Chocolate (damn, this place has many variations of chocolate), ice skating, discussing potential futures, cheesecake (Oksana has a very sweet tooth, but is very active in order to maintain the slim frame and figure she's so proud of), more cappuccinos, a touch more chocolate (only because it's been about 15 minutes before our last chocolate fix!!), and extremely beautiful company.

Weather update: sunny, comfortably warm, and beautiful. I swear, it does not rain in Ukraine!!!
Now that the vacation is finished, it's just a matter of waiting for my car to arrive at 2:00 to drive me to Boryspil Airport, I can now comment on the weather without jinxing myself. I had the absolute perfect weather for this entire trip! Only once, on the second day in Poltava, while riding in the taxi did I see any form of rain (and that was only a few drops on the windshield that lasted maybe 3 minutes). I could not have asked for better, more comfortable weather.

Of course, the last day of vacation was the highlight of the entire trip. I did promise that I wouldn't come back married (check), or any kids (none that I know of) .. but I did not promise that I'd come home 'single'! LOL
Not saying that I'm 'not' single .. but I will definitely explore what future Oksana and I may have together.

19:00 - 7 hours before my driver arrives to drive me to the airport. I'll sign off for now, go get some rest for a few hours. I'm all packed, luggage by the door, I have a couple of dishes to tidy up in the apartment before I turn over the keys ..... and say "farewell" to Ukraine ... until we meet again!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.418s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb