Winter in Switzerland


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland
January 1st 2014
Published: January 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Goodbye 2013... Hello New Year!!

Hi everyone, hope you are all well and had an enjoyable Christmas... Before I start (don't worry it's a brief blog this time... trust me...) may I say - I hope 2014 brings you all the very best of all you wish for yourselves!

As many of you will know I took a little trip back to Switzerland in mid-December, having never been there in the winter this seemed like a really good plan... And it was - although unfortunately tinged with great sadness and bad news, it was still super to see the snow and some good friends...

Switzerland is as beautiful in the winter as it is in the summer and as the ski season hadn't really kicked off, the transport - which is totally punctual and efficient regardless of weather conditions (UK transport networks please take note...) along with the shops and restaurants etc. weren't over crowded.

It was great to catch up with everyone, (thank you very much to the Weiss family for putting up with me and putting me up) and to party hard in Wengen for the Winter Season opening (thanks go to Kathleen for one of the most impressive hangovers I've had in ages), I also had a fab lunch at Kleine Scheidegg with my pal Eirwen - we felt it compulsory to sample the delicious hot chocolate from the Tipi too...

I very much enjoyed squeezing in a jaunt down to Zermatt to see my mate Hazel - unfortunately she had to work so I overdosed on Crimbo movies and then when she got in we cracked open a bottle of red and had cheese fondue, mmmm cheese fondue at midnight - no wonder I have odd dreams sometimes :-) the following morning as a few flakes of snow fell we watched Elf - the greatest Christmas movie - ever!

A big hello and many thanks go to the wonderful teams at the Metropole hotel and Café Schuh for their kindness and support, and as always great coffee and cakes! Sarah we must do it again soon!

So this really is a brief blog, don't get me wrong I had plenty to write about from my trip but owing to extremely sad circumstances I felt happier just giving you all a brief outline, letting you know that Switzerland is a fantastic all year round country to enjoy! For those of you who don't know already...

December wasn't a great month for many reasons so I just want to wish a good friend in Switzerland well - stay strong, I'm thinking of you... and if I may also just wish a certain Michael Schumacher a full recovery... To all my ski bunny pals - please be careful... and wear your helmets!

Take care everyone and travel far for life is short, and for that reason I dedicate this blog to Mansoor Anwer Raja - 4th August 1967 - 15 December 2013. May you rest in peace dear friend, my thoughts are with Samantha and Beni at this sad time.

Hoping 2014 is better for us all

Love Tallulah x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.269s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.2076s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb