My close encounter with early retirement in Sorrento and my travels and arrival in Geneva


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland
February 16th 2012
Published: February 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

WOW. Four days without internet... Interesting. So, I came clsoe to retiring in Sorrento. This was my Sorrento trip: Arrive Sorrento after double kisses all around, there was cheese, salami, pizza and beer. Then espresso and dolci and then all different fruits grown by the Staiano family with homemade limoncello. The next morning, I wake up to a beautiful view of Mt. Vesuvius out my window and was greeted with espresso and biscotti and then met the newest family member, Ricardo. Went home for lunch- left over pizza, bread, cheese, salami with wine followed by penne arrabiata which was followed by something similar to chicken francese with a salad side. Espresso, sweets, fruit. Watched "world invasion" (?) in Italian, dozed off, read my book, went for a run, showered, then dinner. Dinner- Prosciutto and mozarella then pork cooked in a scooped out loaf of bread with potatoes. Espresso and hand made valentines day (festa di san valentino) cakes. Bed. The next morning was the same except instead of seeing Ricardo I went shopping and enjoyed the San Valentino festival and street fair in the center of town and did some shopping. Returned home for lunch. Ravioli followed by sausage with a salad side, valentines day cakes and whiskey. and then more whiskey. Nap. "The Bodyguard", in Italian, run, shower, dinner. Leftover pork and potatoes with mozarella and prosciutto and wine. Bed. The next day I ran errands with the family in town and returned for lunch which was risotto followed by crepes with mozarella covered in red sauce. Dinner was then followed with a lot of tequila. Fortunately, I only stayed three days or else I would have to go out and buy new clothes for the rest of my trip. It was amazing and relaxing. We had so much fun around the table with a mixture of spanish, italian and english to communicate and tell stories. It was interesting to see their lifestyle, they must be doing something right- all our relatives keep living to a hundred or more.



I am now in Geneva with Silvia and the boys ( I am not great with kids in English so it is pretty awkward with ones who only speak French and Italian but they are precious). Have not seen Achille yet. Silivia just participated in the fattening of Jackie as well. Tomorrow I conquer the city. It is
mt. vesuvius mt. vesuvius mt. vesuvius

View during my run.
beautiful being surrounded by the snow covered mountains!



Pictures to follow...


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

san valentino san valentino
san valentino

Unbelievable. Unbelievable, both the pastries and il nonno.
my train meal my train meal
my train meal

My meal "to go" , Compliments of the staiano family.
switzerlandswitzerland
switzerland

And week two begins... Enter Switzerland.
my train "bunk" my train "bunk"
my train "bunk"

10 hours stuck up there. No bar car. Nothing.
greater swiss mountain dog...greater swiss mountain dog...
greater swiss mountain dog...

Oh hey , a SMALLER bronson. I think this one was a puppy. Couldn't say hi cause I don't speak French and he was across the street.
maniacal spiderman(s)maniacal spiderman(s)
maniacal spiderman(s)

Children really are like drunk midgets.


Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0815s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb