SWITZERLAND


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland
May 18th 2010
Published: May 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

SWITZERLANDSWITZERLANDSWITZERLAND

who doesnt love their cheese...
Location: Geneva, Lausanne, Vevey, Montreux, Bern, Interlaken, Bonigen, Grimmelwald, Lucerne, Basil, Zurich
Length of Stay: 7 Days
Cost per Day: $85

Well... there is no doubt about it... Switzerland is an extraordinarily pretty place as far as mother nature goes...
Guess loads of other people think its pretty special too... The UN, International Red Cross and World Health Organisation have all set up their headquarters here...

It is however very, very expensive... I think most people know that... I cant quite figure out why though as its not a particularly sophisticated society which is what I was expecting...
Sure its got its fantastic landscapes and its pretty buildings but really thats about it...
Life on the streets is pretty dull... in fact overall I found that I was most uninspired here and happy to leave after a week... Guess I should have been up there on the slopes...

Shopping... well unless your here to purchase a Swiss watch or chocolate... save your money for elsewhere...
Fashion is non-existent... I tell a lie... of course there is fashion here, but its so outdated...
In fact, I found that no-one really makes an effort to look nice at all... all very kitsch and 80's... What a complete surprise considering Switzerland is one of the most priciest countries in Europe...
I dont get it...

I found the Swiss people a curious lot... their general persona was much like their country's stance in the political world...
neutral... a little bland... and very conservative... I was most disappointed... There didnt seem to be any life, personality or joie de vivre to anyone... perhaps it's due to the weather... I guess that I probably wouldn't be jumping for joy either living in a country that only see's sunshine several months of the year...
The other thing that really stood out to me was that everyone looks so unhealthy... pasty, sickly, colourless complexions...
Again... no doubt due to lack of sunshine in their lives... I suppose also, that constant cold weather means their diets are not the best... lots of heavy, starchy and stodgy foods to keep them warm...

For all its natural beauty, there is still not a way in the world I would want to live here...

Switzerland of course has made some wonderful contributions to the world...
Here are just some of them...

*Chocolate... Toblerone, Lindt, Nestle
*Watches... Swatch, Tissot, Patek Phillipe, Omega
*Banking... UBS, Credit Suisse and secret bank accounts
*Swiss Army knives and the big one... the WWW... was developed here in Switzerland... where would we all be without it...

And I must say, they have fantastic entertainment options... in the space of just a few weeks, this tiny country of Switzerland is getting a visit from Rhianna, Kiss, Michael Buble, Eric Clapton, Metallica, Pink, Rod Stewart... and thats just some of them... Lucky people... Michael Buble is a favourite for me and I would love to see him live one day...

onto Liechtenstein now... x





Additional photos below
Photos: 63, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

SWITZERLANDSWITZERLAND
SWITZERLAND

I would have liked to try an authentic Swiss cheese fondue... will wait till I can share the experience with someone...
SWITZERLANDSWITZERLAND
SWITZERLAND

friendly neighbours in Interlaken...
SWITZERLANDSWITZERLAND
SWITZERLAND

the freshwater is such a gorgeous colour...


25th May 2010

Hello
I do love their work - Lindt, Toblerone etc And I have a Tissot watch. I had a good friend who was Swiss in the past and I am digging in my mind for the basis of her pride in her country. It really was down to how civilized they believe they are. They pride themselves in their government and a very clean and orderly society. Of course, she left Switzerland in the 1980s and never went back. Briz whether is turning cool and the sun has disappeared. I am a couple of weeks from exams and have been battling the flu. Great weather for hats. xxxTheresa
8th June 2010

Greeeeeeeeting's!
Hiya Nicole, So! Ye didn't 'njoy Switzerland.....That's a a pity. If it's any concillation I'm not a fan o' Toblerone either.....I liked the many shape's, coulours, design, size and scenic pictures of the homes, churches, shops, mountains, passer-bye's, trees, purple buggy's......x

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0183s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb