The Matterhorn


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland
January 27th 2005
Published: January 27th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Matterhorn in the morningMatterhorn in the morningMatterhorn in the morning

I was walking to the first lift, which is a train in a tunnel up the mountain, when I turned around and saw this beautiful shot.
I am in Zermatt to snowboard the matterhorn, unfortunately it is -15c on the low mountains (thats the high) so I will not be going too high (it was -35c on the higher portions)

I took a train from Munich here, once we got into Switzerland the mountains were incredible, somany high peaks covered in snow. It is a beautiful country.

I hope to have some pictures if my camera doesnt freeze. After snowboarding tomorrow I will take a night train to Rome to see Nadja a good friend I havent seen in 4 years.

Snowboarding was pretty great, my rental equipment left a little to be desired but the setting mde up for it. It was pretty cold but not horribly so. The mountain range is huge and you can ski all over the place, I stayed mostly on the trails as I was alone and it there wasnt any really fresh powder.

I was able to take some pictures mostly of the matterhorn, it just draws your attention.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Super GondolaSuper Gondola
Super Gondola

This gondola can carry 150 people to the summit at one time, it is deafening when they all start walking out on the metal floor with ski boots on.
Matternhorn at  duskMatternhorn at  dusk
Matternhorn at dusk

I was heading down the mountain to catch my train, I had to stop to capture this, I was alone on the trail just watching the sunset, truly a magical place.
Cold lunchCold lunch
Cold lunch

I left my water glass untouched for 10 mintues while I ate a hot bowl of soup, when I grabbed it to have a sip, a layer of ice had formed in the glass.


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb