Good morning, Geneva!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland
June 15th 2008
Published: June 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, I am officially on Geneva time. The professors took us to downtown Geneva yesterday to show us how to work public transportation and wear us out so we would sleep/get over jet lag easier. Downtown is beautiful! It has lots of really old buildings that are centered around a lake. The lake has a really large fountain jetting out from it. I promise I'll take pictures next time we go there with my camera. I am also super excited that on the route to downtown we passed an H&M. Yay for shopping!
Yesterday night, the head of the physics department let us use his internet phone service, skype, to phone home. It seemed to have incredibly affordable rates (2 cents/minute), so I might look into getting it for my own computer. It was nice to be able to make a phone call!
Today I think will be a pretty low key day. I think we're headed to the grocery store to buy some basic, hideable food. The Grad student in charge of us, Jeremy, says food here is really expensive. He bought 2 pears for 6 francs. However, the good news is the only kind of cheap food is...drumroll please... chocolate! Guess I know what I'll have to survive off of.

Advertisement



15th June 2008

hideable food?
Why does your food need to be hidable? Eat lots of chocolate for me!
15th June 2008

It turns out the hostel doesn't want us to keep food in our rooms, only in a shared refrigerator where other people might steal it. So, I'm going to buy hideable food.
15th June 2008

Cern laboratories
Chocolate? I knew there was a place in the world where one would be forced to eat chocolate for economic reasons. Eat up! Although I know I will not be able to understand anything you are doing, I think I read a book about this research facility. Can't remember the name? Anyway, I would like to put excerpts of your blog in the newsletter with your permission. Would that be ok? We want to live through your amazing experience. Enjoy every moment. Warm regards, lleanna
15th June 2008

conversion rate
How much is 6 francs? Eat lots of chocolate for us too, but watch out for the occasional awkward horsey moment.
17th June 2008

Hideable food
We should have sent some EasyMac with you!! Do they even have mac and cheese in Switzerland?
17th June 2008

you should definitely get skype. i use it all the time down here. its free to download, and you can talk for free if someone else has it, kind of like aim except you can talk and also use a webcam if you have one. and then its 2cents a minute to call land lines, which is way cheap! good luck!

Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb