The land of chocolate, cheese, and pocket knives!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland
January 4th 2008
Published: January 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Snow Covered Palm Trees!Snow Covered Palm Trees!Snow Covered Palm Trees!

The view from my balcony in the Montarina! This was right upon arrival in Lugano! What a gorgeous first day :)

We have ARRIVED!



After a long day and a half of traveling, I am finally settled in to my home for the next 4 months! It still doesn't feel real as I look around at my antique room in the Montarina. The high ceiling, marble fireplace, and wooden armoir are nice changes from the sorority house and there is no doubt that this place has survived the test of time! The trip here was long, but with little confusions or annoyances. We landed in Zurich and then loaded our luggage onto a bus that would take us the remaining 3 hours to Lugano. We drove through the city and as soon as we were a little ways away all that could be seen were the breath-taking Swiss Alps.

It started snowing as we got closer to Lugano. The mountains were covered in white fluff and it truly looked like something out of a Christmas card or what would be found in a dictionary next to the definition of "winter wonderland." After the treachorous walk up the hill with all of our belongings, we began to explore our surroundings. This is the most gorgeous place I have ever
--Balcony Doors----Balcony Doors----Balcony Doors--

Here is the view as if you are walking out my balcony doors!
seen and it's so exciting that I have 4 more months of pure bliss!

The buildings around Lugano are so cute and painted pretty colors. We saw the university where we will be taking classes over here. We call it "U.S.I" for short, because the real name is quiteee long. I still can't believe that this is my life- I don't know when it will completely set in or feel real! I can't wait to see more of Lugano and Europe! More later~but for now, SLEEEEEP!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Brie and I's beds in the MontarinaBrie and I's beds in the Montarina
Brie and I's beds in the Montarina

It was a little messy since we were just unpacking, but here is an idea of how our room is set up. It grows with personality every day- we now have some pictures taped up around the room to remind us of all you back at home!
The ROOMThe ROOM
The ROOM

Picture this as if you are walking straight into our room. The balcony is straight ahead, our beds are on the left wall, sink area is in the back left corner, and armoir on the opposite right side of the room!


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb