Commuter hell


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Wengen
May 26th 2007
Published: May 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well I am finally in resort. Of a fashion. Actually having to commute till my accomodation up here is finished (in refurb so i guess that is good). Only prob is it now means I have to leave my current accomodation at 7am to get up here in time for welcome meetings and visits that I have to do. Boooo :-( Ah well it's character building i suppose. As for the work itself, it's starting off hectic as I'm doing the work of two people while I wait for my new partner in crime to arrive. he's currently setting up another resort. I guess it'll mean when it gets really busy it's all gonna be easy, right? For now I'm covering about 6 hotels and we have 9 up here in high season. Then I'll only have 5 if all goes according to plan.

Wengen is really pretty and looks over a valley... and the famous Jungfraujoch, which is otherwise known as the top of Europe as it has the highest train station. Ooh look at me, trying to sell you the area. Must be the rep in me! But seriously, it is actually lovely, especially in the sunshine. And an hour to the lakes so best of both worlds. When things calm down, I'm gonna try to get out there and do some windsurfing and if I decide I've cured my fear of heights I may consider paragliding. Would be rude not to!

Typically for me, little miss scatterbrain, I had my wallet nicked on a trip to Luzern a few weeks ago. Apparently the swiss are very honest so if i had just lost it, someone would definitely have handed it in. Possibly the honesty comes with the near guarantee of a reward for handing it in that is custom here. No such luck for me though. And as per usual EVERYTHING was in it. In the process of replacing it all now. Not easy from Switzerland but my mum has impersonated me a few times!

Otherwise, still killing my liver - too much Jägermeister and wine. Realised me and my mate had consumed 3.5 litres of wine before we even went out! Oops. The local backpackers bar think we're crazy and even got told by a south african barman that we drink too much. That's a little worrying perhaps. Oh well, we are enjoying ourselves and getting to know the local haunts! Met the other reps for Inghams and the like and they are pretty cool... whole new world to me considering I was on my own in Austria apart from the locals. Not better, just different.

What else can I tell you? erm... maybe I should just attach the photos and let them tell the stories...!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb