Day 9 - Lauterbrunnen, Switzerland


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Lauterbrunnen
May 15th 2010
Published: December 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


001001001

So cute!
I was actually able to sleep in today. It felt pretty nice, especially going to bed early the night before. Today I had paid for and planned to go up the Jungfrau mountain. Unfortunately, I missed breakfast, and therefore missed Filippo telling us that the weather was bad and if we no longer wanted to go this was our chance to get refunded. As I was getting dressed I realized I had nothing to wear on my feet. All I had brought was three pairs of flats and a pair of boots. I’d had to throw my boots away in Venice as they were ruined from paragliding. I knew I couldn’t wear flats in the snow, but it was all I had, so I decided to suffer through socks and flats, which looked ridiculous, let me tell you. About ten minutes before we were supposed to leave, I found Steve and Korryn in the common area, and they had gotten their money back and told me about the weather situation. Seeing as how my personal shoe situation was making me less and less excited about the trip, and because I’ve seen snow hundreds of times before, I decided I didn’t want
002002002

Haley, Korryn and I at the waterfalls
to go either. After tracking down Filippo, he managed to get my money back right in time.

Instead of going up the mountain, a group of us decided to go see the waterfalls. Our group today was Steve, Korryn, Haley, Kaitlin, Bianca, Amanda, and me. It was a lot of fun, even if I had to do it with my sock/fancy silver flat combo. Everyone had a laugh at my “hiking shoes”. It was grey and rainy out, but it didn’t take away from the beauty of where we were staying. It took about an hour to get to the waterfall and once there we were able to get tickets to the inside where we could walk right up inside the waterfall. It was very slippery and wet but also pretty cool. The views from the top were nice as well.

Once we were done here we all walked through the town and stopped for lunch at a small restaurant. This was one of only three times I ate at a sit-down restaurant during the tour, and it reminded me of why I don’t – it is so expensive! I realize that one of the great things about
003003003

All of us at lunch in the town of Lauterbrunnen
travelling is trying the cultural foods and having new experiences, but that’s just not something that interests me a whole lot. I’ll try cultural/new foods if they are free, or included at optionals, or if they have them at the pit stops, but other than that I don’t really mind eating the same food as I do at home. Lots of people would disagree, but it’s just the way I am. I’d rather save money and have a great time. The food is just going to be eaten, but memories of a great trip last forever. Hahaha. If I ate at restaurants every day I would only have enough money to go travelling for half the time. Anyways, at this restaurant I ordered a vegetarian lasagna and when it came it was so scalding hot by the time I was able to eat it everyone else had finished their meals. It was pretty good though. It cost 21 swiss francs though, which is about $20 Canadian dollars. And it was tiny!

After lunch we continued walking through the town, stopping at a few stores, but there really wasn’t much else to do. We went back to the chalet and
004004004

Lauterbrunnen
I had a shower, and organized my suitcase. It felt strange to not be going on the bus today, since every other day so far had been spent travelling from one city to the next. This is where we would have usually caught up on our sleep from the night before, so everyone was exhausted by the afternoon. Here in Switzerland was the only time throughout the whole trip that I accidentally bought sparkling water instead of still water. Next time I go to Europe I am definitely memorizing the words “still” and “sparkling” in every language I can think of. I hate sparkling water. Before dinner, me and Korryn attempted to do laundry. I say attempted because the machines wouldn’t work and we eventually had to get one of the staff members to come help us. But it was all good, and I would later get to drunkly thank him at the pub. 😉

At dinner we tried fondue, which was really good. That night everyone was going to the bar, and since I’d taken the last night off, I was all for going out too. We started out at the bar on the campsite, but it closed
005005005

Amanda, me, Chelsea & Haley
surprisingly early, so we all headed out to the one bar in town. It was quite nice actually, there were several floors and even free Internet inside. I left earlier than usual with Haley and Chelsea. We were all drunk, and ended up in one of the campsite bathrooms, where we had some adventures trying to get a Swiss condom out of the machine. I’m not too sure why we felt the need to get one. I also stole some body wash from one of the showers. We ended up back at the hotel where we ate Pringles in the hallway and I stole a bunch of stuff I found lying around in the lounge. Don’t worry, it all got back where it belonged. I passed out at around 1 am.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

006006
006

Lauterbrunnen
007007
007

Haley and Korryn ready to go see the waterfalls
008008
008

Trummelbach Waterfalls
009009
009

Massive waterfall
010010
010

Steve, Haley and I at the waterfall
011011
011

Cutest sheep!
012012
012

Our Contiki bus!
013013
013

We had some fun later!
014014
014

All of us during our night out!


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb