Day 10 - Lauterbrunnen to Paris, France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
May 16th 2010
Published: December 3rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


001001001

Paris
Breakfast was at 6:45 am today. We left early because today was our longest drive of the tour, to Paris. This was our final city, and the city I was looking forward to the absolute most. It still wouldn’t quite hit me that the tour was going to be over in two days. I was feeling pretty bad from the night before but was nothing a nap on the coach couldn’t fix. I slept for the first three hours, until our first pit stop. Here me and Korryn decided to switch seats. Until now I had always sat in the same seat at the front of the coach with Emily. Korryn wanted to see what the front was like, so I switched to the back of the coach where I sat with Chelsea. Everyone was very interested to see my photos from the night before. I wouldn’t realize until I got home that I actually had video. At first I wasn’t too interested to sit in the back, but then I realized this seat was a million times better than my other one. It’s definitely where I will sit on my next tour.

Once we reached the second pit stop
002002002

The River Seine, Paris
I used my calling card to phone mom. It was about 6 am at home when I called, but I didn’t know when I’d get another chance and I didn’t think she would care. I assured her everything was going great, and that I’d e-mail her soon. Once we were on the outskirts of Paris my excitement began to mount. The buildings here looked more modern and boring, but as you got further into the city they got older and more beautiful. Soon we could see the Eiffel Tower in the far distance. Once we got into the city center I was in heaven. Paris is easily the most beautiful city I’ve ever been to.

We stopped at a small restaurant where we had champagne and were given the opportunity to try escargot. I was too scared to try it (I am a very picky eater), so I just had champagne. We went for another drive after this and we were able to see the Louvre (which is huge!), on our way to our campsite. Once at the camp we had dinner and got settled in our cabins. I was rooming with Melissa, Candice, and Chelsea. The cabins were
003003003

Escargot
easily the worst place we stayed at, but it wasn’t that bad. The bathroom was one tiny room with a drain in the floor and a shower head on the wall. Basically, when you showered, you got the entire room wet, toilet and sink and all. I decided to have a quiet night tonight because I didn’t want to be hungover for sightseeing in Paris. I was in bed by about 9 pm.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

004004
004

Hours on the road to make it to Paris from Switzerland!
005005
005

First views of Notre Dame Cathedral
006006
006

Paris
007007
007

Our cabins in Paris


Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0663s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb