Night trains, brainwaves Harry Potter and Megan


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Lauterbrunnen
July 23rd 2007
Published: July 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

well the night train in a seat was certainly a different experience. the seats were kind of special seats so it wasn't to bad. the lights however didn't go out too well so i rigged up an eyemask out of a strap and my sunglasses cloth because i am too stingy to buy myself one. why should i when i should have received it complimentary of singapore airlines!!!

the conductor on the train was quite thorough. he was the first one to actually ask for my passport with my eurail ticket. i read a bit of harry potter (when i say a bit i mean i am 100 pages from finishing a 600 page book i bought 48 hours ago) and then tried to sleep. unfortunately reading a book without finishing it before bed has never sat well with me and wizards and mysteries and intrigue bounced around my head until i fell asleep around 1-ish. short-lived though it was i woke at 5:30. i tried to go back to sleep but the steam train next to me (not the one i was on) was snoring at full steam. I clapped very loudly and the noise died down a little.

i pulled into Lauterbrunnen station and found Megan. She looks well and is thoroughly enjoying her new job at Contiki. i don't think i would complain being stuck in the Alps, would you?

Megan showed me the parts of town i hadn't seen last time i was here and t hen showed me around the campsite. it is huge!! and right underneath the big waterfall in the area. its breathtaking.

Wednesday 25th July

went up the jungfrau joch mountain today and i went SNOWBOARDING. i have found my winter sport. it was so much fun. although being up at 4000m asl and exerting yourself was not the ideal place to do it, i managed! my legs were aching afterwards and after a fantastic ride where i didn't land on my arse we cruised down the mountain again!

Thursday 26th July

Well it is time to get going, my legs are killing me from snowboarding, i'm all lightheaded from the nosebleed i got because of snow boarding at 11 000 ft (to add perspective: aeroplanes must be pressurised if you wish to fly above 10 000 ft). To Zurich airport i will go!!!!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.302s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb