Ice climbing day 4


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Interlaken
September 17th 2011
Published: September 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

730. BEEEP BEEEP. AHHH its so early and its a tad cloudy. Not looking good but Hoping it turns our great and my body is starting to hate me for going going going. (one more day) Get picked up and the lady drops me off. I get to the room and there are tons of people. about 20 people easily already getting ready. He told me I was late ( in a joking way ) But the lady told be 820 she will pick me up so I was on time MOM.

Get my gear and pack and jump in the van. There were three vans and they were all packed. Im not to keen on huge groups like this. Especially when it involves crazy stuff that needs guides to keep an eye on things. But every one was really cool and chill. It was one big group from Zurich and its online thing and they all got together to do an outdoor activity.

One hour later we get to the site and it was amazing. Three huge glaciers between mountains. We pack more stuff in our back pack and we start a nice little hike up to the actually glacier. About 30 minutes On rocks that werent stabled sucked. My ankles were hating me and my shins. I was worried I might have gotten a shin splint on my left shin. But not to bad so just kept trucking though. We get to the glacier and so we had to put on our metal spikes on our boots. As we step onto the glacier we get all roped together in teams of 8. ( i guess if one falls we all fall. ha) Not to keen on that. We hike more up this glacier zig zagging through and we finally get to our spot and its already lunch time. mmmm. FOOD. After lunch we got ready to dive in. He showed how it workd and we just started. So an overview what we did... we get lowered into this deep whole and we have to climb our selves out. We got with a partner who would pull in our rope slack and take pictures. The first one was an easy one but still tricky since it was my first time. I started to get nervous thinking shit what if I cant place my foot right and pull my ass out. But I did. Now I was pumped for another one. We walked to another one and this one was alot deeper and tad harder. It had a small water fall going down the side so It was pretty neat. I managed to pull myself out. The third one I did was suppose to be the hardest one. It was the deepest on they had and it was alot smaller. Not for the claustrophobic type. The pictures pretty much show me going in and disappear then coming back out. I get to the bottom and theres a cool cave to the side of me. I wish I had my camera at the bottom with me but the guy up top had it to take pics of me coming out. So I was nervous when I hit the bottom because the people before me struggled getting out. I was out in 10 minutes. I mean I found a good little spot and shimmed my way up halfway then pumped out the last part. I figured out that you didn't have to slam your boot in the ice to get a group in fact that loosens the ice. you just want to kick the ice gently with your two front spikes and it just sits right in. So I felt kinda good that I knocked that out so quick. Some people didn't even think I went to the bottom but I had the pick to prove it. As we finished up the day we started to hike back down the glacier and pretty much did what we did earlier but backwards. Tripped on the some ice a little bit, few small little scrapes on my shins but Still alive. Hour drive back, helped them unload the vans, had few beers with the guides and Now back at the hostel exhausted. Happy I have nothing to do tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb