Switzerland / Vienna, Austira


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Interlaken
June 1st 2006
Published: June 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

View from the whitewater rafting placeView from the whitewater rafting placeView from the whitewater rafting place

I will show everyone pictures when I get home, they are on a CD and I cant upload them.
ON my second day in Switzerland, we went canyoning which like a mix of rock climbing and sliding down waterfalls. It was of course FREEZING, but was just as fun as whitewater rafting. Not many people can say that they have done either in the Alps. I also found a painting in my backpack that I forgot to tell everyone about.

When I was in Rome, without Heather, I was lounging around the city, and at one particular point, I was sitting on the Spanish steps listening to my Ipod. A man approached me and start talking. He had a slight Italian accent, but great English. (as does everyone in Europe. It must be nice to be bilingual). He asked me what I thought of Rome, and I told him it was great, except the Spanish steps were a huge letdown. They were under construction and looked like any other steps in the whole city. I beleived the word I used to describe them was 'lame'. (no wonder people think Americans are arrogant, oops.) He told me how great they usually are. He was drawing, and he pointed down to his shop. He told me to meet him there the next day, and he would give me something to make me appriciate the steps. I went the next day, and went in his shop. He gave me a watercolor (that would usually be like 50 euro), and told me THAT is what the steps ususally look like. He let me have it for free, and everyone can see it when I get back, but it is amazingly done.

Anyways... Switzerland was awesome, and I wish I could stay so much longer. It had so much hiking to do, and fun adventure stuff. But we decided to make a day trip to Vienna the rest of the day. We looked around the city for a couple of hours, and then headed back top Bern to stay for the night. Yet another country to add to my list 😊 Vienna was old, and very pretty, but it was great to see it, if only for a bit. I spent my last morning walking around Bern, and just looking at the capital. It was small, but clean and beautiful like the rest of the country. I finally parted ways with Kassandra and started my 7 hour train ride to Munich where I am hoping to find Heather. She hasn't emailed at all, and we have been out of touch, but she SHOULD be there. We shall see...

9 countries down, 3 to go. 10 launguages I have been through as well, that is nuts in itself. Well, I'm off to Munich. Ciao.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb