Lauterbrunnen


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Interlaken
June 18th 2005
Published: June 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Our Own Private WaterfallOur Own Private WaterfallOur Own Private Waterfall

Even though I elected not to stay, I have to say that Lauterbrunnen has its charms. Think Canadian Rockies, but only cleaner and neater (if possible), and with people actually living on the mountains!




One of the benefits of doing Busabout is flexibility. Case in point is my decision while filling out the check-in form at Camping Jungfrau, I decided to stay only the mandatory 1 night.

Part of the reason is that the area is expensive - very expensive. Another is that if I stay the 3 nights (2 full days), I'm going to want to do things. A trip up to the mountains (even taking the alternate route, and not to popular and €140 Jungfrau peak) alone would have been expensive. Then, with Interlaken so close, I'd probably be tempted to go canyoning, paragliding, etc. I figured that by the time I was done there, I'd be out 3-400SFR (which is almost on par with the Canadian dollar). For this trip at least, I made the call that I'd rather spend that money and time in Venice or Barcelona. Hence, it's off to Venice for me tomorrow.

By way of general observations, Switzerland is beautiful. The people here are polite and neat to the extreme. In my time here, I haven't so much
Family Farming High Up a MountainFamily Farming High Up a MountainFamily Farming High Up a Mountain

I'm incredulous at their choice of lifestyle, but there's not an insignificant amount of envy in there as well.
as seen a single candy wrapper or cigarette but strewn about, and I'm not exaggerating. The countryside looks absolutely picture perfect. Lauterbrunnen itself, situated between two massive cliff faces, just seems so isolated. During a hike up one of the trails, I ran into a family collecting hay. Making a simple living so far up the mountain ironically made my head spin. My life has been characterized by ambition, drive and revelling in trackling yet another - and harder - challenge. The thought of such a peaceful existence elicits a conflicting concoction of emotions. Surprise, envy, incredulity, desire and fear are all in the mix in generous proportions.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



20th June 2005

Jungfrau's Beautiful, eh?
How's the young lady (Jungfrau) treating you? Nice area isn't it ? Good for you make the call to go to Italy instead of getting stuck in an expensive camping ground! (The Junggrau peak is a tourist trap anyways).. Hope you'll have lots of fun. I missed those pictures, too bad internet is so expensive in CH... "Confederatio Hevetica". Byebye now.

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb