Venizia


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Veneto » Venice
June 19th 2005
Published: June 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post



I absolutely adore Venice. The city charms you the minute you cross the tiny man-made strip of land into the lagoon. The city also guarantees that you'll get lost in it. I have probably the best map money can buy, and my companion Gabrielle and I still had one heck of a time navigating the streets that are 2 meters wide, with buildings 4 stories high on either side. Oh yeah, did I mention that street signs are relatively rare?

I was hoping to get an evening meal in some secluded place, but the guidebook's listing was closed for the month. We ended up in a slightly more touristy place. The bill wasn't really surprising - this is Venice after all.

The only snag today was that since I didn't prebook, we're in a tent tonight at Camping Plus D'Alba. I won't go into details, but suffice it to say that things aren't really pretty here 12km outside Venice. The silver lining of course, is that the rate is €12.50 per night. I should be able to switch to a bungalow for the next 2 nights.

Advertisement



20th June 2005

Venice
Hey Venice is fun isn't it? I didn't go last time but I've been there before on a tour about 13 years ago. Charming city. Talking about mapping, too bad you don't have the GPS-Laptop-vehicle guiding software combo I've got. I just use it to go down to Seaside, Oregon for a ham convention. It's great, you know exactly where you are... I'll let you go to sleep now, hopefully the camping site can give you quality rest. p.s. Who's Gabrielle? :-)
20th June 2005

Venice
Hey Venice is fun isn't it? I didn't go last time but I've been there before on a tour about 13 years ago. Charming city. Talking about mapping, too bad you don't have the GPS-Laptop-vehicle guiding software combo I've got. I just use it to go down to Seaside, Oregon for a ham convention. It's great, you know exactly where you are... I'll let you go to sleep now, hopefully the camping site can give you quality rest. p.s. Who's Gabrielle? :-)

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb