Yes...I am still alive


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Geneva
June 13th 2005
Published: June 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Bonjour all. Yes...despite all of the rumors you may have heard...I am still alive. I know it has been awhile since I have last wrote a blog, but I have been busy enjoying the finer things of Europe : ) I have been having an incredible journey. There is so much to tell. I was in Germany with the Binder's from the 2nd until the 11th, then to Interlaken, Switzerland and the Alps the night of the 11th and during the day of the 12th, and now I am in Geneva with the Getty's, which I came here last night and am staying until either tomorrow morning or the morning of the 15th. With much to tell, I will only share part of my time in Germany in this blog and then tell the rest in the days to come.

Ok...well you all know how dramatic my arrival in Germany was...or how dramatic I made it to be : ) I stayed in Pfullingen with Johann and Herme Binder and their three children, Johanna, 7, Calvin, 4, and Joelle, 15 months. For all who don't know the Binder's...Johann came to Grace Seminary in the late 90's and went to Valley Springs church. I met him then, but was in my hate everyone but my friends stage. I like to call that my butthead stage. I actually use stronger language to describe it, but I know children may be reading, so I will hold back : ) Anyway, I then met Johann and Herme and Miriam and Uller Otto later when they came to visit in 2002 or 2003. I instantly felt a connection with them, as only God can establish. So they welcomed me into their home when I let them know I was coming to Europe.

A quick word about Johann and Herme. They are some of the most loving and giving people I have ever met. They not only welcomed me into their home and gave of time and money, but more touching was there giving of themselves without requring anything in return except what I have, myself. Johann was busy...busy with the church he pastor's, busy getting ready for a summer conference, busy getting ready to head to the States for 2 weeks, and busy spending his last moments before his trip with his family. But he still found time to spend with me, to take me places, to talk. Herme was always cooking the most wonderful food and also willing to talk, admist the busy job of taking care of three children. I will always be grateful for the love they showed me. I wish I could have displayed my thanks more tangibly, but my gratitude is all I can give.

Well, my first day was spent hanging out with Miriam and Insa, the Otto's 8 month old girl, along with Johann, Herme and the kids. Miriam, Insa, the kids and I went to get some ice cream in down town Pfullingen and then to a park. Pfullingen is a small town, 30,000 people I believe. Downtown has coblestone streets, an old Lutheren church, and old, half-timbered houses...very Germanesque. That night I told my "story" at a youth event held at Johann's church. It was weird speaking to a group through a translator! Saturday I just hung around the house. Sunday was the most magnificent day! In church, I spoke about my Thailand trip with Johann tranlating. The sermon was in German of course, so I was expecting to just sit through it and zone out. But Miriam translated the whole thing for me! How sweet she is. And I was moved...Johann is a good speaker. That shows that God breaks down barriers, even ones as hairy as language! After church we had lunch, the Binder's, the Otto's, a couple engaged to be married that are old friends of Johann's who are missrionaries in Uzbekistan, and myself. It was such a typical German Sunday lunch, of which I will explain. We started things about 130 or so, with a great meal and much good discussion. We then had ice cream. German ice cream is much creamier than that of in the States...much better. Then we moved to the couch, continued our discussion and had some coffee. In the meantime we also had our choice of rhubarb or chocolate After 8 mint pies. I of course chose both! I will say this time and again, Herme makes the most delicious food. Well, by the time we were finished with this, which was about 5 o'clock, we decided that the next logical step was to go for a bit of a walk. Now the Binder's live in the Schwabian Albs, which are small mountains. So we went and walked here...and such breathtaking views! Well, we arrived back at the house at about 7 and, of course, ate! We ate bread and cheese and talked for a while longer. It was such a beautiful time...I have decided to adopt these long meals with friends and family...at least once a week! : )

Well, that is enough for now. Stay tuned for my next installment, where I will talk about the rest of my time in Germany, which involves a nude sauna, a Nazi concentration camp, a trip along the "romantic" Rhine river, Stuttgart, and more time with friends. Then on to the Alps. Au reviour! Bonjoure!

Advertisement



13th June 2005

Sawadee
Hey buds, sounds like your trip is going like gangbusters! You're lucky to see some amazing places. I've been watching some old Michael Palin travel programs to compensate for your adventures back in Winona Lake. Grrrrrrrr. Keep it up crazy pants. - p-slice - Pete
13th June 2005

Hey
Hey Dan, sounds like you are havin an amazing time, good to hear for sure. Keep having fun and God bless. - Zac
13th June 2005

Long meals...
I am in complete agreement of this! We need to start doing that once a week, an Sunday seems the logical choice. Looking forward to the rest of the story my dear.. I am glad you are alive and doing well, and the kids miss you bunches. (Rach and Abbie went to camp yesterday, we pick them up again on Sat. ) I'm beginning to think you will need some "back in the US" readjustment time again, and I am quite sure we have the best facilities for this. Bis Spater, A bientot, see ya later.. Love you! B
13th June 2005

Germany is missing a sexy traveller!
hey dan! awesome journal! thanks for making germany a lil bit sexier! we totally needed it! ;-) have a great day! Andrea - Me
13th June 2005

Short meals at Subway....
I was just thinking about our short meals at subway first semester bro and how much better it would have been if we could have just chilled for the afternoon with no bball practice or work! I think those Europeans have it figured out a little better than us Americans when it comes to that stuff bro. Glad to hear you're doing well man and that the Lord is blessing. Take care and look forward to hearin the rest of the story ;) -Kipsey- - Kipsey
15th June 2005

yes, I agree with Bekah...
oh how fantabulous that you're still alive...and yes I agree, we have the best facilities for jet lag recooperation...haha jk anyway, that's awesome everything is going uber well...talk to you later!

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb