Day 6


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » South-West » Engelberg
May 27th 2009
Published: June 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today was our first free day, and Elizabeth, Vanessa, Ashley and I took the opportunity to take the train to Lucerne. In Lucerne we did some souvenir shopping and ate at a local café. Right before leaving, the girls found a store they loved and each spent a minimum of $100 dollars on clothing. After shopping, we walked back to the train station and caught our ride back home. While we really didn’t do too much today, I think it was definitely a huge step for all of us to take. What I mean by this is that if you would have told me, before the trip, that I would take a train with four of the other students to a large city, and we would be let loose on our own, I would probably have assumed that worst. However, nothing bad happened! We bought our tickets, found our car, navigated the city, ordered food at the café, shopped, and made our way home, all while not being able to speak the language, and being in a very alien environment. I can’t speak for the others on the trip, but this is something I would have never done before. I wouldn’t be brave enough to take a train to another city in America, let alone in another country. I feel as though this may have provided the beginnings of a foundation that will allow me to be more outgoing and try things I wouldn’t have thought to do before.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb