Day 18 - Engelberg


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Lucerne
April 2nd 2006
Published: April 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Engelberg Train Arriving in EngelbergEngelberg Train Arriving in EngelbergEngelberg Train Arriving in Engelberg

This train had a great whistle... it sounded like a wood whistle... kind of surreal... like a Mister Rogers Neighborhood type town.
Great day. I got up at 5:50, caught a bus to the train station, and then took the train from Luzern to Engelberg (about an hour). The train was on a very light ascent most of the way... barely noticeable. Then, for the last four of five kilometers, it took an almost steep ascent into the mountains.

Engelberg is surrounded by big, sharp, steep, snow covered mountains (mostly, as in the lower areas most of the snow has melted off).

First I talked to the information desk and then I got breakfast at Cafe Desire (which sounds chic or something, but it looks like what you would expect a traditional Swiss restaurant to look like. One of the things I got was a muesli mixed in yogurt with fruit on top... different but it tasted very good. Also, I got a croissant, some bread, jam, honey, butter, and hot chocolate. And I definitely need all of that for energy skiing.

After getting to the entrance to Mount Titlis (http://www.titlis.ch/001tit_00_en.htm) and renting equipment, I was reminded that how much it costs to be ignorant. I spent 16 CH (about 12 USD) on lockers, while it should have cost me
Engelberg - 1Engelberg - 1Engelberg - 1

The mountains scale above Engelberg on three sides.
only about 6.5 USD if had better known how they work. And, of course, everything costs more here, and in Switzerland in general. A hot dog would have cost me about 5 bucks, and a hamburger with fries about 12 USD. So, I went with the Snickers... about 1.4 USD, and I'll try to catch up with dinner tonight.

First thing, I went as far to the top as the lifts would take me. There are amazing views everywhere. I'll try to get some photos posted soon. There are a lot of big cliffs kind of contrasting against the normal mountain slopes (in color, as well as shape).

The skiing was great. It took me a few runs to get back into the groove of things. Not too cold out... maybe -5 C. The runs here are often very wide and sometimes go on for a long, long way. Getting back to Engelberg, I must have skied at least a few miles. It was a lot of fun and I look forward to getting back out on the slopes early tomorrow morning. Most of the snow was good, though near the bottom it got a little slushy. Also,
The HostelThe HostelThe Hostel

I really liked this hostel. It was more geared towards familys and had a great breakfast. I had the whole 12 bed dorm room to myself.
I think there might be some snow tonight in the mountains.

Haven't checked into the hostel yet... I'll do that in about 30 mins., can't until 5 pm.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Cafe DesireCafe Desire
Cafe Desire

Located in the bottom corner of this building. This is where I had breakfast the morning I arrived in Engelberg.
A Church in EngelbergA Church in Engelberg
A Church in Engelberg

Not sure of the name or denomination.
A Church in EngelbergA Church in Engelberg
A Church in Engelberg

Not sure of the name or denomination.


3rd April 2006

Skiing
Woohoo! Skiing in Switzerland...pretty awesome!
5th April 2006

great
As I told you, Switzerland is a beautiful country. The pictures are great. Houses are beautiful, also and nature. enjoy in your trip through Europe?
28th November 2006

Picture of the church...
It's a photo of the small protestant church in town.
2nd July 2009

Cafe Desire
Thanks for the photo's. I just spoke to my dad this morning and he informed me that my second cousin Jorg Geiger who owns the Cafe Desire was in Niagra Canada looking at some land he owned. Unfortunately we were not able to meet, however I will make sure I visit him next year during my family trip to Europe.

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 24; qc: 112; dbt: 0.1091s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb