On top of the world


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Lucerne
June 2nd 2008
Published: June 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I was on top of the world. I took the ferry to Alpnachstad where I got on the steepest cogwheel railroad to the summit of Mount Pilatus. It was one of the most breathtaking experiences of my life. First, taking the boat around Lake Lucerne gave me the opportunity to see the landscape from constantly changing perspectives. Then the rail car was an incredible experience. The landscape changed right before our eyes as we ascended. There were daffodils towards the top¦ At times I felt like I was on a ride from Six Flags and that any minute we were going to plummet back down.

When I reached the top, I couldn't believe my eyes. I was on the top of the world. I know that there are taller mountains, but I can't imagine them. There were three different peaks we could climb up, as well as a hollowed-out pathway around/through one of the peaks. I took a ton of pictures, which I can't wait to share with you, but none of them capture the magnificence and truly sublime nature of it.

I made the acquaintance of another lone traveler on top of the mountain and we shared the gondola ride on the aerial cable-way to Kriens and then the bus to Lucerne. Then we walked to see the Löwendenkmal (The Dying Lion of Lucerne) that was carved out of the natural rock in memory of the Swiss soldiers who died at the Tuileries in 1792. Then we walked up to the Museggmauer (the wall I saw on my first day) and went in two towers I hadn't gone to, and were actually able to walk along the top of the wall like the Swiss guards used to do. After we parted ways, I went to the Hofkirche, a Renaissance church with a 5945 pipe organ. What a day¦

I had debated whether to go to Pilatus Sunday or Monday, and am so glad I chose to go yesterday because it's overcast today and the visibility that high up would have been very poor. Today I went to the Rosengart Collection, which recently absorbed the Picasso Museum. They had an amazing collection of Picasso, Klee, Leger, Braque, along with some Renoir, Monet, Matisse, Bonnard, Vuillard, and Chagall.
Unfortunately, the guide book was incorrect and the Kunsthaus Lucerne was closed today, but I will make it there tomorrow
Mt. PilatusMt. PilatusMt. Pilatus

I was on the top of that!
before I leave Lucerne. I walked around the city a lot more today, seeing the Jesuitenkirche and Spreuerbrucke from 1408 with scenes from the Dance of Death. I was walking along the Nationalquai when it started to get much colder than it had been and the winds picked up. I made it back to the hostel just before it started pouring. And that's where I am now.

Miss you all¦



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



3rd June 2008

Quite the adventure! Keep us posted! And put those pictures up!!
3rd June 2008

Vertigo
I wonder if I could have made it up the mountain and back down again? Dad
26th June 2008

gorgeous
sooo soo soooo amazing. love your pictures. :]

Tot: 0.296s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0703s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb