Living it up (literally) in the Swiss Alps


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-West » Gimmelwald
June 3rd 2007
Published: June 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

"If Heaven isn't all it's cracked up to be, send me back to Gimmelwald!"

-Local saying

When I slipped out from under my down duvet to get a drink last night, I went to the window and drew back the curtains. There were the looming mountains, with the faintest lightening of the dark sky over their heads; above them shone a single star. Realizing yesterday's heavy clouds had cleared, I went back to bed with a smile on my face.
This morning I opened the bathroom window and peered outside. At the top of a steep slope of wildflowers were Gimmelwald's postcard-perfect chalets, and beyond those the impossibly beautiful alps, crowned with the first real blue sky we've seen in days. I could hear birds exalting and the tinkle of cowbells on the hills, as the delicious smell of breakfast cooking wafted past my nose. I couldn't help but think, "This is probably the most perfect morning seen by man since the garden of Eden."
After eating a hearty breakfast which included our host Esther's own cheese, yogurt, and bread, we moved our stuff to the rather unorthodox yet friendly hostel across the street, where we ate some delicious pizza last night. Since the clouds had cleared, we could finally see the mountains in all their blinding glory. I know they've been here for ages, oblivious to change, but when the clouds come steaming off them in the morning it feels like they've been baked fresh just for me while I slept.
We walked into the valley on the left side of Gimmelwald, marvelling at the swift green-blue rivers, waterfalls sifted fine as sand, myriads of multicoloured butterflies, and flower-strewn slopes along our path. Whenever we got too hot on our hike, we'd plunge our feet into an icy mountain stream or stop to have a snowball-throwing competition using one of the patches of unmelted snow beside the trail. And tonight we had chocolate fondue for dessert! Ah, this really is the life... Gimmelwald is a breath of fresh air in every sense of the word.

Advertisement



4th June 2007

take me with you...
oh my, I am definitely off dreaming about this beautiful place you describe. It feels so magical and very unlike the dreary rainy day we are having. I am so happy that the clouds have lifted for you and I look forward to more poetic posts. :)
7th June 2007

I want to wish you a very happy birthday wherever you celebrate. We are looking forward to hearing all about your trip when you get back also at family reunion. We enjoyed having Joe here for the weekend also Dan and Kathie. They were a big help with shed. We have had lots of projects this summer. I am still recovering from surgery hope the pain will soon leave. Guess I keep over doing it. We have put in lots of flowers and some garden. Looking forward to the reunion. Sounds like most everyone will come. Hope we will have good weather. take care and have a great birthday. Love and prayers. GrandMa and Joe
7th June 2007

Wow! What an experience. Best wishes for your birthday, Liz. We received the parcel, though my gift was missing (sniff). The girls were really excited, esp. since the parcel arrived on Kay's birthday. Thanks for your thoughtfulness.

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb