Switzerland in my Heart


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-East » Zürich
May 19th 2006
Published: May 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

If you ever have a chance to ride a night train I suggest doing it, at least for the experience. I left Venice at 11pm last night and took the train up here to Zurich arriving this morning. Sleeping isn't exactly easy on a train but it's an interesting and mildly amusing experience. Especially when you have a car with 2 Brits and a Bulgarian that speaks almost no English. All in all a decent time. The downside was not getting to see most of Switzerland's landscape. I caught a bit of the mountains early this morning and was in love with it instantly.

The mountains shoot straight up to the sky that this morning was blue with white puffy clouds. It was cool but not cold and all I wanted to do was get off the train and hike into nowhere. Zurich is outside the huge mountains but has smaller hills and mountains in the area that are so green and beautiful right now.

Tonight I am staying in a hotel in Kloten, a town about 10 minutes away from Zurich. I had trouble finding a hostel online for today and found this hotel for 1 night. I'll move into the city tomorrow. I'm glad about the hotel for tonight though. My room is clean and the bathroom is great AND I have the whole place to myself. I could hardly contain myself when I walked into the room. I didn't want to leave.

After a long hot shower I came back into Zurich and wandered the old town streets. The city has free bikes so I checked one out and rode down the East side of the lake. The further I rode the more I fell in love with this place. It doesn't hurt that everything is blooming right now and the flowers and gardens are colored like a million rainbows.

When I returned I bike I realized I was standing next to the opera house and decided to check it out. I almost bought a ticket to see Don Giovanni tomorrow night but decided it was too expensive. Instead I went to the show tonight; something Bohemian... But I only made it through the first half. I have a horrid migraine and am on my way to bed. I had it earlier today and managed to kill it with some advil but it didn't last. If any of you reading my blog could take a few minutes to look up migraines and over exertion could you please send me the info. These are new headaches in a place I haven't had them before and they are knocking me over. The pain starts on the left side, just below and behind my ear. It stayed there the last time but tonight it has radiated around the back of my head and has overtaken everything behind my ears. It got worse with exercise.

Okay so that's the bad news but it's fixable..I hope. I'm off to bed..hoping to see the West side of the lake, go for a run, and see the best zoo in Europe tomorrow.

Advertisement



20th May 2006

headache
Hi Cara, We look it up. It sounds like neck problems. When I had whiplash, the pain radiated almost the same. I will send this to Laurel (massage therapist) and ask her if she had some ideas. Love Mx
22nd May 2006

Outta here!
Hi Sweetie, I agree it the headache sounds like neck. You are also probably not drinking as much water as you are used to, especially with the changes in altitude. Try putting ice on it (and your hands in warm water at the same time). Tricky, but trust me. ** I have so enjoyed your journals. It's been exciting, and I admit reassuring, to follow along, and I look forward to catching up when I return. I am trying to finish up my desk today so that I can leave tonight or early tomorrow. We come out of the canyon on June 3rd, but I won't be back online or in cell phone country until June 12. Keep on having a wonderful time! Love, Mom

Tot: 0.36s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb