Ich ben sehr heise!


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-East » Zürich
June 4th 2010
Published: June 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Train Route

Sceaux to Zurich by way of Mulhouse and Basel

Josh and I have arrived safely in the land of neutrality. We had a good time in France with my uncle, and then took three trains for about seven hours yesterday before arriving in Switzerland. Zurich is a german sparking canton, which is tough for me, but thankfully josh is fluent, so e haven't had any trouble getting around. We got in last night and met up with karin and her cousin Steven. We went back to steven's flat and dropped our stuff before going out to a bar and a club in downtown Zurich. I learned two things last night. First, if you want to drink in Switzerland, you'd better be prepared to pay around five bucks a beer and more for mixed drinks. Second, I'm incredibly uncomfortable in clubs no matter where they are. It was a good time though.

We woke up around 930 this morning, and headed out to a hill that had a great view of the city. It took about an hour to hike up the hill and about 30 minutes to get down. It was quite a workout, but well worth the effort. After descending, we caught a boat ride to old Zurich
ZurichZurichZurich

View from atop the Gross Muenster
and walked around the neighborhood and the big church, gross munster. We then ate some ice cream on the shore of the river and headed back to Steven's. We are now about to eat some kind of hash browns with mushrooms and meat which is allegedly a dish native to Zurich. After that, karin is threatening another club, but I'm going to do my best to dissuade her. Tomorrow we are off to geneva and the soccer game. Viva italia!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Walking about ZurichWalking about Zurich
Walking about Zurich

Jody's taking it all in


4th June 2010

CLUBBIN'
I was taken to clubs in dusseldorf when I went to visit philip in '01. Terrifying, but there, the beer was free. Oh, folly of youth that I did not take full advantage. I-TAL-IA! I-TAL-IA!
4th June 2010

Jody I am with you
Jody I am with you with clubing. It was never my favorite thing but alas in my day it was very much in with the dental and med students.... I am really loving hearing of you venrue. take care, love and prayers grandma

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb