Reality is fast approaching


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-East » Zürich
November 16th 2007
Published: November 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well the party is nearly over for this edition, with the flight on the big bird rapidly approaching. Zurich has been a pleasant surprise even if it did get off to a shakey start. Who would have thought that I would find the only taxi driver in Zurich who didn't want a fare, you see in Zurich it's a little bit too easy to get from the airport to your hotel. They have regular trains that run from the airport to the main train station and from there it's an easy trip on a tram or by taxi to the hotel.

The plan was all good to start with, get train from airport then onto a tram to the hotel, easy. I did revise this on the way to catch the train and then taxi it to the hotel just to make life that little bit easier. Besides after navigating another ticket machine to get my train ticket to what I hoped was Zurich CBD my collection of Swiss Franc coins had evaporated. I managed to have a minor stroke of preparedness and grabbed a map at the airport so when I got to the main train station life would be easy. Easy it was walk out the front and to where the trams where, the minor glitch of no coins and not really knowing which direction to get the tram in made me look at option "B", the taxi. A quick check of the map and I worked out that the hotel was just a few blocks down the road. Eventually find the taxi rank and walk up to a cab and kindly ask if he wouldn't mind a short fare up the road. He politely tells me that they should have sent me to the taxi rank on the other side of the train station as it would be easier to leave from there. So I say well mate isn't it just down this very road we are on and veer off to the right go a couple of blocks and we are there. He explains frustatedly that I really should walk over to the other side of the train station and get a cab from there. In the end he won and I walked the four long blocks to the hotel in 0 C.




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The fire sceneThe fire scene
The fire scene

Unfortunately one firefighter lost his life fighting the fire in this 14th century building when a beam fell on him.


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb