Things that lean, thieves, prostitutes, Swiss Alps, Lakes and back to Germany...


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-East » Zürich
August 25th 2007
Published: August 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I got to Pisa and went to see the leaning tower. I took some photos, but could not climb up because I had all of my luggage. I had my thoughts confirmed by some others that Pisa does not offer much. I was delighted when I got to the net cafe to have an email from francesco saying he could host me on that night. I contacted him quickly and he met me in the square. We got some kebabs and went to his flat with his friends. They went to see a horror movie in Italian, I declined and did some train research. I had my own bed which was nice and I slept well. The next day we played with his Chinchilla , Roger and then he made us some pasta before my departure.

I took the train to Milan, not because I wanted to go there. Actually along the way i saw many beaches I would love to go back to. When I got in the underground to get to my hostel, my cell phone was stolen (nearly positive), I know exactly when it may have happened. I am bummed, so I will need everyones info again soon. I met up with a couple guys looking for the same place, so we walked together. I was able to do all my laundry there and I made all the calls necessary to have my phone stopped. I was told by the guys that there were prostitutes outside of our hostel. I eventually got some innocent Japanese guy to go walk with me to check out the scene. It is so interesting to me for some reason. We just walked down the street in back, the girls were literally at the front gate to our hostel. It is a good thing that our hostel has security, cameras and also no co-ed dorms. lol At about 1 am I went to my room and realiyed that from my terrace I got a pretty good view of the action. I watched as nearly every other car stopped to talk to them, sometimes the cars would line up. The guy would stop at each girl to negotiate and I assume they charged too much because then they would drive off. I did see a few get picked up. One girl got brought back, walked about 20 feet and then was picked up again. At the same time her friend next to her was picked up. Sooo weird. I decided to get to bed after 2.

To Switzerland...
I got the train at 9am from Milan to Sondrio. Sondrio is in the very North, close to the border of Switzerland. The ride there was fantastic along the Lake, assuming Lake Como because it is in that area. I have really become more and more attracted to water. In Sondrio I jumped off my train and literally ran and jumped into the train departing to Tirano. Tirano is truelly a border town. There was a sign that said Switzerland, I had to go through that door to the next train and show my passport. I had a last Gelato and some pasta before my train departed. I took a Scenic Panoramic train called the Bernina Express. I can only imagine the view in the winter as the train travels up into the Swiss Alps, along rivers and lakes and past a glacier. The rivers and lakes were a cloudy sea green, nearly white because they are so cold and have ice in them. I was jealous of all of the tourists on motorcycles and in campers out exploring the grounds, but I admit I had an amazing view. I thought of going back and then back again. lol My train stopped in St. Mority, right on a lake. I saw the water and was so drawn to it, I went and splashed my feet around as it was far too cold to actually swim in. I got on the next train to Chur and then one to Zurich. I had hoped to go to Bern to meet up with a friend but her work schedule was crazy and the night was nearing 8pm. I stopped in the tourist office and they booked me a hostel, the only one we found with a bed. I got to my hostel, it was really nice, but not for a $50 dorm bed. The dinner they serve was $16 and the restaurant across the road was $28 for a pizza. Nicely put, Zurich has outrageous prices, 2nd to London. I opted for the $7 can of Pringles and called it a night. I thought of going to another city the next day but even a train to a city an hour away was near $45. I decided instead to move on...

The next morning I made a phone call to Alex. I met Alex and his girlfriend in London the night I arrived, we were chatting on the train. He had given me his business card and said to call him if I go to Strasbourg. I called him to see if I could go to visit him. After a few phone attempts we got in touch and I managed to get a train out of Zurich shortly after our chat. On my way to the station I made a pitstop at lake Zurich for a quick swim, really quick. I got to the lakeside and had to get my bathing suit out of my bag and do a 7th grad locker room style change out in the open. It was strange but I still had the moves. lol I ran into the water and found myself swimming next to a huge swan. I got out and threw my clothes on over, to others I must have looked like I peed myself, then I took off across the street for a train, whcih left in 6 minutes. I got to the main station, had some swiss chocolate and sent a postcard before my 2 hour train to Strasbourg. Alex picked me up at the station and we went to his village. Strasbourg is on the border of France and Germany, he lives in Germany. I met his parents and we had a pear and chatted in his garden. I got to accompany Alex to his Fußboll game/ soccer and it was so fun and fantastic. They had a shut out I think 5-0. The fans were having a great time and Alex had arranged for me to hang around a gal that spoke English. I took a few photos through the game for Alex and at the end they had some sparkling white wine to celebrate the win. Alex took me out to a lovely Italian place near his house for dinner and I tried the local drink made from local grown apples (it was similar to a cider, non alcoholic). We then went to his house again and his girlfriend Natalie came over to stay the night. We got to chat a bit then went to sleep. Monday morning Alex got me up at 8 and I went with him to Mannheim, he had a business meeting and I walked around the center a bit. He finished early so we took off. We drove on the autobahn, most cars drove as they would in LA with the exception of a few that zoomed by in the fast lane. Traffic jams were ahead so we exited early and he took me to a motorcycle dealership to show me the bike he wants to get. We got groceries on our way home and made a lunch together, vegetarian style. He made a red cabbage salad with vinegar and I made some pasta sauce and a salad with feta, pears and candied walnuts. The greatest thing about our lunch is that the lettuce, pears and basil all came from their garden. We played around online a bit and I showed him pictures and such, he did a little bit of work and at 5 or 6 pm we jumped in th car and went for a quick swim in the lake at the neighboring village. It was again a quick swim, it was getting a little chilly outside. We came home and ate more of our food from lunch and then went upstairs for more talking and net stuff. We ended up talking about everything and anything until after midnight. He had helped me also to book my hostel and figure out my train to Paris. This morning Alex woke me up and I said goodbye to him, soon from now his father is going to take me to the train station for my journey to Paris. I am really excited to get there but really sad to leave here. Alex has been such a great friend and an amazing gentleman, his parents too are really lovely. I feel so comfortable here. I told him I feel like a princess from the mosquito net over my bed, it looks more like something you buy to fancy up your bed. lol (by the way I have close to 30 bites that I know of right now, my face, arms, neck, back, legs, toes, bottom of my feet, etc...)

Anyhow, sorry it was so long for an update and this one lacks some details because I do not want to totally bore you. I am wonderful and quite sad to end my journey in 3 weeks. Time has flown by. The hardest part is saying by to the lovely friends I have made. Get ready everyone, I hope to have many visitors in the future. My hosts have all treated me sooo well, I can only hope to return the favor.

Take care everyone. Lots of Love
Erin

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb