Fun With Drama


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden
March 24th 2009
Published: March 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Dag on the Cross 85 secs
Birthday TreatsBirthday TreatsBirthday Treats

Jeff gets Legos, Littlest Pet Shops, an Emma sized T-shirt and Mountain Dew for his birthday! Everyone's happy!
This blog is coming to you mostly in pictures and one great video. I was asked to participate in the stations of the cross at our Swedish church, Kullavikkyrken. I was given the role of Maria at Golgotha and assured that I simply had to look sad. That translates, I can do sad. I have to admit, though, that during our dress rehearsal, I was expecting Ashton Kutcher to jump out and yell "you've been Punk'd" in Swedish. It was one of those moments where I looked around me and thought, "am I dreaming?". Well, it was the most fun I've had in a long time. Our audience was 10 & 11 year old children from the local schools and our "cast" is primarily pensioners (retirees) and church staff...I'm the token American. I don't come into the story until Jesus faces Pontius Pilate, it was really interesting to hear "crucify Him" in Swedish - not hard to be sad until the "weepers" react to this order, and I have to fight the giggles. Just watch the video and you'll see what I mean. We have two Jesus' to keep things moving...Arne and Dag. You're getting to see Dag, in the performance
Care PackageCare PackageCare Package

Manna from Home...thanks Krissy and Anne!
of a lifetime...and bear with the video, the Oscar will be awarded based on the last 15-20 seconds. I LOVE these people.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

InnebandiInnebandi
Innebandi

Emma plays in an innebandi tournament!
JorgenJorgen
Jorgen

Inspecting a pond on a tiny rock island. He inspected it TOO close, at first, and fell in!
Gustie!Gustie!
Gustie!

Our visitor from Gustavus, Hassie!
Mossy Rock WallMossy Rock Wall
Mossy Rock Wall

These dot the landscape all over Sweden...I love them.
SimbaSimba
Simba

The kids love Gunnel's cat, Simba.
CastCast
Cast

The cast for the Stations of the Cross.


24th March 2009

Which one were you?
I couldn't pick you out in the crowd, Maria. What color were you wearing?
25th March 2009

Movie Star!
Maria, you have found your calling! You were the best actress in that whole video!
25th March 2009

What a hoot. I'm feelin' the season, now. ready for D.C. Wish JJ and little Orville could be with us for the trip. Had a suprise 50th b-day party for Kim Froseth (callies) saturday in Brandon. Went up with Larry and Janet Haak. We butchered a pig a few weeks ago at the Haak's. Ground it all into sausage and brats. My take filled a nice section of my freezer. Hope this finds you well fed and warm. Please extend my gratitude for the fine preformance to your Swedish friends. I thoroughly enjoyed their interpretation. Unreasoner

Tot: 0.393s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0868s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb