It's an eel!


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden
May 17th 2008
Published: May 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

An official welcomeAn official welcomeAn official welcome

Our names have made the big screen!
Checking in from Falkenberg, a beautiful city by the sea boasting shipyards and wind mills! The team, after having had a full day in Ljungby yesterday complete with a presentation (number three), a tour of the Center for Information Logistics and Strolfors, finished the day with a fabulous dinner party replete with singing! I have never sang so much in my life. They even got me to do a duet with Beth! "What a Wonderful World" it is indeed!

This morning we met at 10 am and made our way toward Falkenberg, which included a detour at Tiraholms Fisk, a manor house that serves its fish fresh from the lake! A shock to Shana and myself as we stared at our table at what appeared to be a cord and black box under a piece of glass, and it moved!!!! AN EEL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Kudos to team members Beth, Carol, Peter and Dennis for trying the eel. Shana and I required a bit further recovery before consuming slimy slithery creatures.

We were all given an opportunity to have an evening with our families and look forward to spending a full day with them tomorrow! No uniforms, no schedules....aaaaaaaaaaah. I look forward
Dinner at the Museum of LegendsDinner at the Museum of LegendsDinner at the Museum of Legends

Our tour guide AND cook is a fine example of Swedish hospitality!
to a trip to Goteberg with the Bengt och Monica and eagerly anticipate learning more Swedish!

As a side note, this program is such a fantastic opportunity to see the world! I can't begin to explain the generosity and kindness we've been shown, the willingness to teach AND learn, the wonderful food, and the singing! It's such a wonderful way to experience a culture, and I'm so thankful for this opportunity that RI provides its GSE participants...

Hejdo!
Vi ses!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Outside Ljungby Outside Ljungby
Outside Ljungby

Experiencing history
There's an eel in there!There's an eel in there!
There's an eel in there!

A lunch time surprise!


18th May 2008

Mmmmmmm...Eel!
Oh, I know it well - that "fish" is one tough bugger to convince yourself it is edible. But you know what? It now ranks WAY up there on the list of fish I love! ...well, at least in a sushi bar. ...really. Thank you for the "aside" comment, but you are preaching to the choir, Jamie - so I too have that same sense of wonder and awe - STILL! Now, again I dare you - don't pass the eel twice, give it a try. You may never like it, but the story will last FOREVER!
19th May 2008

Memories
Hej, Love reading you blog. So many memories and even to odd familar face. To explain myself I was leader of a team from D9520 in Australia who was in the D2400 this time last year. Say hello to those we met. I have shared the link with members of my team. We look forward to following your journey. Judy (YUDI)

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb