Drying out


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Västra Götaland County » Gothenburg
September 1st 2005
Published: September 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi All

So I left Malmo yesterday and took the train to Gothenburg. Leaving Hanna's would have been a lot harder but we had to run for the right bus to take me to the train station and so there was no time to be sad.,. haha

Gotherburg is a great city.. I wandered all the cobblestone streets and sat in the outdoor cafe's with a glass or two of wine..
I went to 2 catherdrals and a musuem, but the really cool museum is a floating maritime museum.. They have 13 ships in the harbour that you can check out.. Most of them were built in the early 1900's and have been donated to the musuem. It was so great.
I went all the way through an old submarine and you could see where they would shoot the torpedo's very cool.. and hey, even I had to duck in some parts of it.
They also had an old destroyer that you could go all over.. you could go as far down as the munitions storage.. and all throughout the radar stations, crews quarters, everything... I loved it, must have spent 3 hours there.
I sort if imagine these old army vessels as what the Canadian Military uses now.. haha, just joking.. Kim don't tell Steve..

Alright, thats it for now.. going to go have a beer.. leaving for Oslo tomorrow...

Hope eveyone is doing well

Tami

Advertisement



2nd September 2005

Hi Tami that does sound very cool, especially the old submarine. I think they only selected people for submarines based on size back in WWII . . . . the closest I've gotten to see one is watching DasBoot. I think I am currently living my dream thru you . . . ha ha ha . . . you know, world travel. Jo and I truly enjoy your "TravelBlog" updates. Be safe. Gerry
2nd September 2005

Gothenberg
Hey Tammy, Sounds like you are having a great time. Are you home sick at all or full steam ahead? Kind of interseting - I met a guy when traveling to Asia in 1997. We hit it off and he came to Canada etc. He was a Swede from Gotenberg. Sounds like a great place. Enjoying your blogs. Send pics if you can. Take care, Cristie
2nd September 2005

Drying out
Hi Tam, I don't think you are drying out considering you have dated this travel bog as October 1,05!! You can't fool us!!! Love you, Kerry
2nd September 2005

miss u
Thanks for sharing your adventures with us. Great stories Tami! Hey is it already October 1st there? Strange! Still Sept. here, just started hahaha am kidding ... Were you confused? Wonder if it was that one glass or two of wine you had... stick to drinking beer only... or tea (I found a tea place in Edmonton for you when you come back, ha ha ha)... check the calendar ;) Best of Luck!

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0945s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb