A sunny day -> Western Sweden


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Värmland County » Arvika
May 7th 2011
Published: May 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Ecotravel


The nature reserveThe nature reserveThe nature reserve

The nature reserve Bergs Klätt, Lake Glafsfjorden. It looks like a whale :)
Wow! What a day! A part of travel is to explore your surroundings, ecotravel. Your do it best by foot or bicykle, to go by car is to go too far 😉 So, now I am going to take you on a small trip around my home. I live in a tiny village called Jössefors, just about 9 km away from Arvika in western Värmland, Sweden. During the week I was in Sicily with my sister everything has turned from grey and boring to green and fresh! When we got home we said "What?!! Is it summer already?". We had missed a whole season during one week. The birds are singing and yesterday I felt the smell of "fresh cut grass" for the first time this year. But however, now to the ecotravel! First I took my bike to a place called Bergs Klätt, a beautiful nature reserve one-two km away from my home. There you can walk around in the forest for hours just and just feel the smell of spring and hear the birds sing. Along the path you can stop and to grill a hotdog or just to enjoy the silence. It's a true paradise for photographers and nature lovers. On Bergs Klätt you can see the remainings of old cairns from the bronze age (the time the Vikings raged around northern Europe), around 1000-500 B.C.

After a lovley walk I took my bike to the Old railway which now are gone. Now it's a beautiful path with a tunnel close to Sulvik. From the old railway there's numerous small paths that forms a network around the forest. From there I went to the hydroelectric powerstation (By the way, I'm going to work there during four weeks this summer) and to the big barrage. Recently the "gaps" was opened and around 200m³ water/second was floatng out of the barrage. It was a cool and very powerful sight. That's all for today, but with a new day comes new opportunities! 😊

*All the photos is not taken today.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

hepaticahepatica
hepatica

Usually they are blue/purple, but theese was pink!
hepaticahepatica
hepatica

in it's true colour


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 17; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb