Sailing the Archipelago - Day 1


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
June 13th 2010
Published: June 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Mida - Day 1
So this is our boat’s name. Not sure what that means but I’ll look it up later. It’s a really nice boat with plenty of room. We got all of our stuff down to the dock and while Ted checked things out with the owner, Bre and I headed to the ICA (like our Fred Meyer) to get supplies. We had to walk up a large hill and then down to the bottom. Took us about 2 hours to get back. We got all unpacked, put the food away and then realized we don’t access to power except 12V when we are under way. So I have a CPAP machine. Great. So I hiked back to the mall to see if I could find an adapter for my machine. I found something at this electronics store that they said would work so I headed back up and down the hill. I’m definitely getting my walks in!
So I tried the adapter and it worked for a few seconds but once we were off shore power, it just couldn’t get enough amps to make it work. So I’m on the boat for a week without being able to
Cruising out to SeaCruising out to SeaCruising out to Sea

This is a boat gas station stop.
sleep. Great…. So far I’m doing okay but I think I wake everyone up with my snoring. Thank god we’re out in the boonies or I’m sure I’d wake the neighbors!
So we headed out and just started driving. No real plans. Just cruising around, looking at the sites. Thousands of islands to maneuver through Thankfully we have GPS navigation charts for the area. Tells us the names of the islands and the path we should follow in the different channels. The homes on the shores of these islands are amazing. Huge homes and these are mostly their summer homes. Crazy.
We found a nice place to drop anchor for the night near an island called Grinda and tied the boat to one of the trees. We decided to BBQ so we got the BBQ from the boat and took it to the island to get the briquettes going. Okay, we’re not batting 100 with the BBQ thing. These briquettes must have been in the hold too long because we couldn’t get them lit. Okay, we’ll boiled the brauts instead. They were actually pretty good!



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Archipelago PicsArchipelago Pics
Archipelago Pics

Not sure where this was taken but I like it.
Cruising out to SeaCruising out to Sea
Cruising out to Sea

Some of the homes on the shore.
Awesome SailboatAwesome Sailboat
Awesome Sailboat

We saw this on our way out to sea. We had to turn around to get some pictures. The boat was massive!
Subway over the WaterwaySubway over the Waterway
Subway over the Waterway

This was on our way out to sea cruising through Stockholm.
IslandsIslands
Islands

Many of the islands are like this with rocks and trees.
GPSGPS
GPS

This is our first stop for the night. We're the little black triangle on the smaller island.


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb