Stockholm


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
September 10th 2005
Published: September 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone.
So Stockholm.. well getting here was an adventure. The night train I was on had some sort of difficulties, never really did figure out what the problem was, but we were stuck in the middle of nowhere for 5 hours waiting for another train to come and take us the rest of the way to Stockholm. The time actually flew by as I met a Swedish woman, a Danish guy, an Australian guy and 2 Americans. We had a great time getting to know each other and pooling all our food for breakfast. The train company then gave us all food vouchers for the train station and Patrick, the Aussie, and I used them to buy beer!!

Stockholm is a beatiful city.. I love it!! There are islands and bridges everywhere and they are so amazing. My hostel was on a ship which was pretty cool. I went to a few museums, the Vasa museum was my favorite. The Vasa is a warship that sunk on its maiden voyage in 1628. It hadn't even left the harbour, so 300 years later they found it and its been restored and is in the musuem.

I met Hanna's friend Esther who was just wonderful. We went out a couple of evenings with her friends who were super nice. Wednesday we went to a pub to watch the 'football' match and they had 3 different games on that night. The bar was just packed with fans and the atmosphere was fantastic.

I went to the old town, its on its own little island, and to the Royal palace, to the open air museum, just everywhere. I met some people in the hostel and have just had a wonderful time.

Today I am taking the ferry to Helsinki. It is an overnight ferry and takes 16 hours or something like that. I heard from Patrick that the trip is a blast.. I am sure it will be.

Will write from Helsinki

Hope you are all well

Tami




Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0796s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb