Leg Two of My Journey Begins


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Stockholm County » Stockholm
July 22nd 2007
Published: July 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey all!

So, with my class officially over, my paper and final turned in, I have left the Folkhögskola and moved down the road to the Sigtunastiftelsen. It is a very peacefull and well kept hotel. A wholy different experience then the dorm-life of the last month.

After completing our papers, finals, and parting dinner, the group (sans professor) headed out for a final glorious night of drinking and revelry in Stockholm. I did some research and came up with a highly recomended brew-pub called Akkurat. It was awesome. Just the right atmosphere, not so loud that we couldn't talk to eachother and locals we were sitting next to. I had a pint of Guiness, of course, and then some great Heffewizens.

After the bar we headed back to central station to catch the bus back to Sigtuna. We missed the bus by about 3 minutes and had to wait another hour for the next one. By the time we got back to Sigtuna, it was 4:45am and the car was waiting there to take the first group of people to the airport for their morning flights. Needless to say, there was a bit of chaos and some fervent goodbyes, but to my knowledge everyone made it onto their planes and back across the Atlantic. What a way to end the trip!

A few of us that didn't immediatley flee from Stockholm met up for dinner last night along with some new faces that had just arrived. We went to a great restaurant called the Pelikan (not a spelling error ... have a little faith) for some traditional Swedish food. The restaurant was grand looking with beautiful wood paneling and a great casual atmosphere. We all ordered swedish meatballs since we had not gotten to partake in the tradition yet, and we were richly rewarded. After gorging on gigantic meatballs we headed off again to Akkurat from the night before to have one final, parting drink.

It was all very bitter sweet. These are people that I spent almost every minute of an entire month with. I know them better then I know some of my friends back at Davis. I suppose what is the most depressing is that realistically I will not see most of these people again, and I will miss each of them. We had an awesome time and it is something that I will never forget.

But alas, all good things must end. So here I am two blocks from the Folkhögskola biding my time until my parents arrive tomorrow afternoon and leg two of my journey begins.

Advertisement



31st July 2007

Mmmm, swedish meatballs! Now I need to go to Ikea

Tot: 0.369s; Tpl: 0.054s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb