Over the Pass


Advertisement
Sweden's flag
Europe » Sweden » Skåne County
July 6th 2015
Published: July 6th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Decision time...

I felt that I could either go forward or go back. The advice from one of the hut managers was to go back - 'there's lots of stream crossings' she warned me 'and the final day is more than 30 km.'

I calculated the final day would be about 11 hours walk. Daylight hours were 24 per day. I was well equipped for stream crossings, and the forecast was continuing fine. I decided to continue over the pass and walk 2 more days to do a through trip instead of back-tracking.

I was quickly rewarded with awesome scenery going over the pass.

Since I didn't have snowshoes (hey, it was a summer holiday), I couldn't climb any of the highpoints, peaks, or even take any high routes, so I was glad of some great scenery from low down - frozen lakes, a waterfall, open scenery, and quite a few reindeer (finally!). It was an easy walk down to Vistasjaure (the next hut).

Then the final day began with an early start and ended with a late-ish finish. In between, I ran into a lot of birch forest, some wetlands and stream crossing, and the first swarms of mosquitoes for the trip.

Oh, and a couple of moose. I'll put that in the next blog


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb