Tomatina!!!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Buñol
September 3rd 2005
Published: September 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Slippery When WetSlippery When WetSlippery When Wet

People were on the ground slipping and sliding, and trying to grab handfulls of tomatoes mixed with garbage and piss, and missing shoes! Again! It was disgusting!!!
Imagine will you...thousands upon thousands of people having made their way to a small town near Valencia, Spain. No more than 30 min. from the beach, this once quiet and serene town, Bunol, becomes the center of the worlds largest tomato fight. Crammed into the streets like cattle, the pushing, the heat and the overwhelming body odor combined with the the excitement of the being the first to throw the tomatoes, everyone is pumped and shouting with anticipation....

Once in the crowd and there was enough space between people, there were shouts of "camasita, camasita, camasita"! If there was a shirt on, you better beleive it would be ripped off! I was hiding between Alejandro and Laini, and I was the only one fortunate enough to had kept my shirt on!

It is quite possibly one of the most disgusting and exhilrating events that I have even been a witness to! It was crazy and unfortunately dangerous as well. There were a few people that headed to the emergency room right afterwards. One of those people was my tomato soaked roommate, Laini. Her eye was hit after a fellow "tomatinaer" threw his head back and struck her in the
I rubbed up against people I never thought I would ever get a chance to!I rubbed up against people I never thought I would ever get a chance to!I rubbed up against people I never thought I would ever get a chance to!

We were in here somewhere.....let me tell you...I know some guys were really glad to be getting a free feel up!!!
face...poor thing..

I ended up leaving after a only ten minutes, because Alejandro was about to throw up...haha! So funny!...

We made it out alive, and I am sorry to say, I will mostly likely never go to it again. Once is enough for me, however, I think that next year I'll throw grapes....

I don't have pictures because our disposible camera was ripped out of our hands when the tomato chaos began.... however check out the link and see for yourself this was! Que asco!

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20050831/ap_on_fe_st/spain_tomato_fight_4




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Wall to wall damage!Wall to wall damage!
Wall to wall damage!

Tomatoes, tomatoes, and many more tomoates...I think i can offically say...no mi gusta tomatas!


6th September 2005

Oh my gosh, it looks so disgusting! But a great thing to experience....once. Glad you kept your shirt on! Thanks for finding those pictures!
5th October 2005

pretty disgusting
that seems fun but it probably hurt

Tot: 0.354s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1132s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb