Arrival in Spain


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Valencian Community » Alicante
September 24th 2007
Published: September 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I arrived safely here! Despite sitting on gum somewhere along the way, all my bags were in Alicante when I arrived!! It was a long flight, I don't do much sleeping when I fly so I watched a few movies, bought a neck pillow and despite my efforts to sleep managed about 30 minutes total during the 3 flights I took. Oh well, I can sleep when I am old : ).
I caught a tour like bus and we (me and 4 other students in my program) rode to the Hotel Hesperia Lucentum http://www.hesperia.es/hoteles/Hesperia-Lucentum/?source=googes&gclid=CMC2h7-S3I4CFQzclAodaQJA8g, which was really nice and the location of the 3 days of orientation. One of the first things I noticed about the city is the presence of graffiti...everywhere.
I got checked into my room and then grabbed some pizza with a new friend Julia. Afterward I headed to my room to nap, and was awakened by my roomie who had just arrived at 4pm.
We had 3 days of orientation, mostly just coaching on what the program would entail, safety in the city, different activities we would be doing, cultural norms and preparation for our homestays.
On Aug 30, we got to meet our host families. Everyone in my program was nervous/excited and we all wanted to see who we would be living with. I got blessed with a mom, Magdalena and a brother, Francisco. My mom has 3 older daughters who don't live at home, but visit frequently. I love my host mom! She is super sweet, cooks, cleans and does all my laundry..I feel very spoiled. I live very near the Port of Alicante, and have a view of it from my terrace. I have a cute lil room and my own bathroom, yeah!
For the first two weeks I was here I went to the beach everyday, it is about a 15 min walk from my house..But have since tapered off a bit. I walk everywhere here as I don't have a car and am developing fine calf muscles!
Please enjoy the pictures I have posted. Guadalest is a small town nearby, we went to a museum and castle for a day trip and afterward went to some waterfalls for swimming and jumping off rocks into large pools of water!
I love the climate here and the food is amazing...come and visit!! : )
Ciao! I will try to keep this updated when I can!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



24th September 2007

Amos!
I love your blog! Now I can live vicariously through you with much greater efficiency! Looks like SO much fun!!!!! You'd best update often or I might have to send Father Larry over to give you a prashka. Talk to you soon....Susanna
25th September 2007

timmonsrodney@yahoo.com
Great pictures! thanks for working on this to keep us informed. good luck, Rodney
25th September 2007

Super nice !
It looks soooo nice Amy !!! I feel like taking the first aircraft down to visit you ! Nice to follow along in your life and see all the pictures. We also look forward to see you here in Norway for a visit. Take care !!! Love Berit Roth
26th September 2007

España!
Hola Amy. Me alegro que estés en un lugar tan bonito. Lo más importante es que hables solamente español y que hagas muchas preguntas. Saludos! :-) Stephen Timmons
26th September 2007

Little Amy Travels the World
What fun! I'm so glad I got this link. I can't wait to see what you are up to over there!
2nd October 2007

Hola Amy!
Muchos gracias por the update! I finally checked my email and went to your blog! I miss you , my little sista, but I know you're having a good time. Be safe - I love you!

Tot: 0.447s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 5; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb