La Coruna


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » La Coruña
August 7th 2006
Published: October 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Plaza de Maria PitaPlaza de Maria PitaPlaza de Maria Pita

And that's the Palacio Municipal
The day I arrived in La Coruña was also the same day the 50th Anniversary Tall Ships Races arrived there and the place was swarming with sailors.

(One for the girls: I had a sudden flashback of the episode in Sex & The City when it was ´Fleet Week´ in New York. This was like Fleet Week in La Coruña!!)

It was a little too chaotic for my liking - many summer programs in the plazas which mean crowds and inability to get very far in a short time due to being squashed by people.

The Torre de Hercules (Tower of Hercules) is impressive. Note to self: do not wear skirt ever again to climb towers, must remember wind factor!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

The Italian shipThe Italian ship
The Italian ship

Also the most popular ship, where people lined up an hour before it was opened to the public. Sheesh.
Okay I should have warned youOkay I should have warned you
Okay I should have warned you

.. that you'd see a man in trunks, but this was some challenge for the sailors - the fastest to walk across the pole and ring the bell at the end of it. Don't ask me why.
Tower of HerculesTower of Hercules
Tower of Hercules

Hercules was said to have built this when he overcame the giant Gerion who terrorised the inhabitants of the region.
LampostsLamposts
Lamposts

Artwork on each is different.
Just to prove my pointJust to prove my point
Just to prove my point

.. that you'll never find someone to take a decent picture. That's my camera strap dangling across the right side of this picture.
FiestaFiesta
Fiesta

Free concert at Plaza de Maria Pita.


Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 63; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb