¿Que tal?


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
May 27th 2005
Published: March 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

¿Que tal mis amigos? I am just livin´large here in Madrid. Let me catch you up on my time here. I arrived here at 735am on the 24th. I met up with Zac at his residence hall. There are roughly 25 international students there, with 5 kids from Grace. We went to Plaza Mayor, which is the famous "city center" area. It was pretty cool. That day we had doners, which is pronounced dooner. It is a turkish food and is meat, lettuce, veggies, and sauce (I have no idea what kind) in a pita bread type of thing. It was really good. That night we also went to a chocolateria, which serves chocolate con churros. It is a cup of litterally melted chocolate with churros. Absolutely fabulous...in fact, it was downright silly!! I was livin´la vida loca and loving life.

One day, while Zac was in exams, I went to the Prado museum and the Reina Sofia museum. The Prado has pieces from Rembrandt, Goya, Rafael, etc. It is what I will term old school. The Reina Sofia is the museum of modern art, or new school. It has stuff by Pablo Picasso, Salvador Dali, etc. It has some wild, edgy exhibits...the ones where the art is not just on the wall, but part of the museum.

Once again, I am starving...so I will tell you about the rest of Madrid later. Tomorrow Zac and I go to Barcelona for a day and then I will go to Paris for three days with one of the Grace kids here. French Open here I come!! On a side note, I love the Spanish way of life. It is so laid back. You get up, maybe eat breakfast (the Spaniards don´t really) go to work for a couple hours, eat lunch at about 4pm, take a midday siesta, go back to worktil 9pm or so, eat dinner at about 10pm, and then go out with friends til whenever. I have literally been following this schedule, except for the work of course!! I will talk to ya later. Peace.

Advertisement



31st May 2005

Chocolate con churros etc.
I have heard of how wonderful that is... sigh... hungry thinking about it ;0) and also the life style of Spain, how wonderful it sounds, a place where we weren't the only ones up that late. I'll be curious on your take of Barcelona vs Madrid. We were debating that yesterday with a few friends.

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb