AFA Parla- first day


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid
May 25th 2010
Published: May 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

new job, new city



Yesterday (Mon) was the first day of my internship at AFA Parla here's the link to their site if you want to check it out (in spanish) www.afaparla.org

AFA is a small NGO that has locations all over Spain to help Alzheimer patients and their families deal with the illness. They give individualized care to each patient to prevent the disease from worsening. They are small but have a psychologist, physical therapist, nurse and social worker in house. Patients are divided into groups based on the stage of Alzheimer's that they are in; initial, moderate, and advanced. The patients come in around 10 am and participate in a bunch of activities (cognitive, physical, etc) and then leave around 2 pm for home.

My position is in communications, I work with the director to make a written communications plan for the org. as it gets bigger. I'll be re-vamping the blog, making newsletters, and setting up a system and packet to have for future use.

This is really what I just finished doing in journalism 202, so luckily it is all still fresh in my mind!

I finally got a phone that works! the number is 68-941-3396 (country code 0034 from the US). I get free incoming calls up to 30 minutes so feel free to drop me a line!

Parla tomorrow morning/aft, then meeting up with a friend

Besos,

C



Advertisement



Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb